Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Taking a read through the rules for Tesseract Labyrinths and Imotekh's 'Humiliating Defeat' rules, they affect all characters not just independant characters. At first I thought that this was due to the appearance of the Infantry (character) type which I assumed was going to be something for 6th ed, but according to the current main rulebook the term character does include upgrade characters (they use the marine veteran sergeant as their example). I assume then that you can use the labyrinth and Imotekh's rule against upgrade characters as well - am I right in this interpretation? Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, I did take a quick look and didn't see it mentioned...
"Ah, curse your sudden but inevitable betrayal!"
"Ha Ha Ha! Mine is an evil laugh... now DIE!"
Read both entries and it says Character.
As defined by the BRB, Characters are independent characters or upgrade characters. Independent Characters being the named ones. Upgrade being SM Sergeants or similar.
So I'd say you are correct.