Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Should be easy:
1) A few weapons like Imotekh's staff and the Deathray have line attacks. The dex says of these line attacks:"Any unit, friendly or enemy, under this line takes a number of hits equal to the number of models in the unit under the line". Say the line hits a unit of 20 Ork Boyz and the line actually touches 5 of them, how many are hit 20 or 5?
2) Some wargear or abilities have a descriptor that says "randomly chose one model", such as Mindshackle Scarabs. Does this mean just pick one or does it mean roll to see who it targets?
3) Under the Cryptek wargear and point entry it says " Whilst you can have any number of Harbingers of a specific type, each of the Harbinger's unique wargear options can only be chosen once in each Royal Court". Does this mean in one Royal Court you could have 2 Harbingers of Destruction, but only one could have Solar Pulse for example?
This one is tougher:
4) A Necron player is playing against an Eldar player and the Necron Player has a C'Tan Shard with Lord of Fire. If the Eldar player has an Avatar and he uses "Wailing Doom" and the Lord of Fire causes it to explode, is the Avatar removed from play even though he is immune to fire and meltas? The Eldar player I fought says the Avatar is not removed and I say it is.
I believe some of the answers are straight forward, but since I am new to the new and improved Necrons, I thought I should be crystal clear on this stuff.
1. It would hit 5. The unit takes a number of hits equal to the number of models under the line. So if 5 models are under the line, it would take 5 hits.
2. You would have to pick randomly, so yes, you would have to roll a die or use some similar method to see who it hits. Proper placement is key to using Mindshackle Scarabs.
3. You can have as many Destruction Crypteks as you want, but only one per court can take a Solar Pulse, meaning you need to take 2 separate courts to get 2 Solar Pulses. The same applies to the other unique wargear options Crypteks can take, Veil of Darkness for example.
4. My interpretation is that he would be removed. The C'tan is not specifically making a fire or melta attack, he is just using a special ability that removes a model from play if it uses a fire or melta attack. Since that special ability is simply to "remove the model from play," and not using a fire or melta attack himself, the Avatar would be affected. We may have to wait for an FAQ for a specific ruling on that one though.
Hope this helps!
1) 5 are hit. I think they were trying to avoid the sniping that occurs with JotWW, so it was written in a fairly clunky way.
2) Roll to see who gets hit. You don't get to be selective at all.
3) Yes, exactly as you've worded it. So if you wanted to bring a second solar pulse, for example, you'd have to pick up a second overlord so that he could have his own individual court.
4) The model (avatar) is removed. Rules for "Lord of Fire" do not say anything about the model taking a flamer or melta wound (the types that the Avatar are immune to), only that the weapon explodes, and the model is removed from play as a casualty. Think of it like a Gets Hot! wound. The wound doesn't take on the type of the weapon (ap2 in that case) and insta-gib marines, it's simply an undesignated type. Same concept.
It is mostly as I thought. I just wanted to play it right. One more thing, I see many people taking Night Scythes as unit choices, but the Night Scythes are not out yet. What are people using for this model, part of the Command Barge? I plan to make 3 out of wood (God help me).
Also, about question 3, does this mean you could have two Harbingers of (say) the Storm, but only one can have the Voltaic Staff? If you can have two Harbingers of the Storm and the condition of being one is your Staff of Light automatically becomes the Voltaic Staff, I can see that being the only piece of Wargear that can have duplicates.
Last edited by andrewbeater; January 7th, 2012 at 05:29.