Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here are some of the big ones.So this clears up what happens there by completely making it impossible to attach an IC at the start of the game. I'm actually on-board with this errata.ERRATA: Chameleonic Skin, second paragraph
Add “Independent Characters cannot join a Lictor
Brood before it arrives from reserve.” between the first
two sentencesOoooo, so a Tyrant/Swarmlord + Guard are only 1 KP. Nice, but not overly significant.FAQ: Q: How many kill points is a unit of Tyrant Guard that
has been joined by a Hive Tyrant (including the
Swarmlord) worth? (p35)
This ones a two-for:So no I1 as it is not terrain....interesting. This also breaks the rules in the BRB as the initiative penalty is only dependent on rolling for difficult terrain, not the actual source.Q: Must every non-vehicle model in a unit that
assaults a Venomthrope brood take a Dangerous
Terrain test? (p45)
Q: Do enemy models assaulting a Venomthrope brood,
or another frindly Tyranid unit within range of its Spre
Cloud, have their Initiative reduced to 1 for assaulting
through the cloud? (p45)
A: No, as the Spore Cloud is not a piece of terrain
The new Necron FAQ goes the complete opposite direction with Writhing Worldscape.
Screw you and your inconsitency and breaking your own rules GW! Way to go! (not that this is new, of course).
And here is a big one!Wait, wait wait......soooooooo Smoke Launchers, Flat-Out, Turbo-boost, KFF, and Ork smoke clouds don't work?Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
EDIT: Also the SitW ruling on not affecting units in vehicles has been reversed. Yay!
Last edited by Hockeyman506; January 16th, 2012 at 20:35.
Glad to hear about the SiTW though.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature
Every little bonus the Tyranids get is badly needed. The reversal of the previous SitW ruling is GREATLY appreciated. It was utter bull$#!7 previously.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Overall good changes IMO. I don't use Venomthropes so that nerf doesn't affect me, but it is still a bummer as Necrons and GK's still have this advantage with their abilities/powers/whatnot. The SitW ruling is by far the one I've been waiting for the most because the old FAQ answer must have been the poorest ruling in GW's history.
Now they just need to add an amendment in the core book giving all MC's Eternal Warrior and an Invulnerable Save that is one worse than their regular Armour Save and were golden. Well that or lowering the price of all Tyranid MC's by 50-100 points.
Jsut read this one
"Q: If an Independent Character has joined a unit of
Termagants that are within 6” of a Tervigon, will they
gain all the benefits of the Brood Progenitor special
rule and, when it is slain, could they suffer damage due
to the Brood Progenitor special rule? (p52)
A: Yes to both questions."
Does this mean what I think it means? Primes dont need to pay for thier upgrades anymore if they join the termies? sweeet!
Also they have made the Necron Whip coils like lash whips. - strange since i'm sure it had the "regardless of modifiers" line in the rule.
Though can anyone tell me if Grey Knights and Space Marines still strike at I10 vs lash whips if they use the respective power? Since the effect takes place before the assault phase even starts?
Last edited by Steve Hunter; January 18th, 2012 at 23:19.
BRB p. 62 - "If the target is obscured and suffers a glancing or penetrating hit, it may take a cover save against it, exactly like a non-vehicle model would do against a wound"
So you are correct that a glancing or penetrating hit is not a wound.
However, a vehicle takes cover saves against those hits exactly like saves against wounds.
So KFF which gives a cover save against wounds, does not give a vehicle a cover save against the impaler cannon unless the vehicle is obscured and touching the cover that obscures it.
Also, check out p.20 (Template Weapons) - "Cover saves are ignored when resolving wounds."
Do you mean to tell me that a killa kan or trukk within range of a KFF will get cover from an incinerator because it doesn't have wounds?
I think the intent is crystal clear.
Hive guards rock and I'm glad I run a shooty tyranid army.
Last edited by jy2; January 19th, 2012 at 01:06.
Record: Win - Loss - Draw: Hive Fleet Pandora (New) 32-6-6 Space Wolf 7th Co. 52-11-6
Blood Angels 12-4-2 Daemonhunters 20-8-3
Imperial Guards 12-5-2 Daemons 8-3-2
Yay! We need to FAQ the FAQ!
But seriously, I agree that smoke Launchers do not give cover saves to Impaler cannons.
Army's used: Space Wolves, Tomb Kings, High Elves, Tyranids, Tau and Eldar.
So yes, I believe if you follow the rules to the letter, a vehicle obscured by a KFF would get a save against an incinerator, since an incinerator specifically doesn't allow cover saves against wounds, there's nothing in there about penetrating/glancing hits. You cannot wound a vehicle, the game mechanic simply doesn't exist.
For the sake of being consistent I would also have to argue that invulnerable saves cannot be taken against penetrating/glancing hits either. Invulnerable saves specifically mention being taken against wounds, not pen/glancing hits. This even somewhat backed up in the space wolf codex, where Bjorn the Fell handed's entry specifically allows his save to work against penetrating/glancing hits by stating - "Bjorn has a 5+ invulnerable saving throw against any glancing or penetrating hit inflicted upon him."
Obviously this is a really stupid way to play the game and I have to agree that the intent seems perfectly obvious, but following the rules, the impaler cannon only ignores cover saves given to infantry from other sources, not vehicles. The cover save taken by a vehicle may work in the same way as one taken by infantry, but a vehicle has not been wounded when it makes a cover save, and thats what the FAQ specifically mentions.
Last edited by Heirodule; January 19th, 2012 at 02:35.
Your friendly neighbourhood gargantuan creature