Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up during a tourney this weekend. I had a unit of Chaos Marines in cover (a forest), and my opponent used his Reavers to turboboost over them and use their bladevanes. A question arose in my mind: do the Reavers have to test for dangerous terrain? They can normally fly over difficult terrain without problem, they only have to test when they fly into it (to claim cover for example). As the unit they want to use the bladevanes on are in difficult terrain, the Reavers have to fly into the terrain.
I play Dark Eldar myself but couldn't find the answer in the 'dex (or in the FAQ for that matter). What would you do in this situation, or is there a ruling I missed?
Innovation suffuses this hobby like a tea bag in the boiling water of play.
Hi Kantoken, I can see where your question is coming from: it seems like there is an hole in the rules.
But if you look into the mechanics of the fly-by attack it is quite simple: you fly over terrain and you attack the troops in the terrain. So no dangerous terrain test is required unless you started or ended the movement in terrain.
Fluff-wise it makes sense: the Reavers are trained to fly over terrain at nerve-wrecking speed and attempt in the meanwhile to chop of their victims head. If you duck for cover, you're save, otherwise: off with the head!
Rule-wise it won't make a big difference as only 1/36 riders will actually die to dangerous terrain... So I would rule: no terrain test required as you get cover saves. If you do need to take a dangerous terrain test, then no covers should be granted.
blade vanes is a special attack, not a close combat attack. it's not a shooting or CC attack, its just classed as special because it works outside normal ruleset.
Also with regards to the ruling, bikes don't take difficult terrain checks unless they end their move in the terrain, only vehicles take checks entering and exiting terrain.
Since the bikes hypothetically entered and left on same turn they don't check(however we know this is not possible, hence end their move in terrain rule), so either way that ruling went, the bikes would not have had to have taken a test. I know the logic you where applying and a ton of people would think the same, it just a silly misunderstanding between bike/infantry models and vehicles, i have see it done once or twice before.
now i don't have rule book in front of me but i'm pretty sure i have that correct.
If you're always worried about crushing the ants beneath you...you won't be able to walk.