question about wraiths in combat with multiple units enemy and friendly - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Cortez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Age
    25
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x1)

    question about wraiths in combat with multiple units enemy and friendly

    Say 5 lychgaurd are in combat with 10 horrors on one side.

    three wraiths are also in combat on the other side of the unit.

    do the horrors strike last even against the lychgaurd?

    felt like getting all my stupid questions out the way in one day.

    cheers!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
    Say 5 lychgaurd are in combat with 10 horrors on one side.

    three wraiths are also in combat on the other side of the unit.

    do the horrors strike last even against the lychgaurd?

    felt like getting all my stupid questions out the way in one day.

    cheers!
    If anyone is in contact with a Wraith with whips, they are initiative one...period. So any I1's would strike last regardless of who. It's all the same combat, regardless of seperate units.
    Last edited by Dark Trainer; February 29th, 2012 at 19:50.
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

  4. #3
    Member Cortez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Age
    25
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x1)

    it says any enemy model though, not unit. i guess it is debatable!

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    94 (x1)

    You just stated it cleanly right there. Any model in base-to-base contact with a Wraith with Whip-Coils fights at Initiative 1. It doesn't matter who the model directs its attacks at, it still is going at I1. Now, if there was a model not in base-to-base with the Wraith w/ coils, then it would go on its normal Initiative.

  6. #5
    Member Cortez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Age
    25
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x1)

    so say i had a unit of 3 wraiths, one with whips, one with particle caster and one bare, would the enemy in base to base hit the other wraiths at there normal Initiative?

  7. #6
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
    it says any enemy model though, not unit. i guess it is debatable!
    Not at all. The rules are very clear. Any model in B2B with a whip-coil wraith hits at I1. There is nothing to debate.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
    so say i had a unit of 3 wraiths, one with whips, one with particle caster and one bare, would the enemy in base to base hit the other wraiths at there normal Initiative?
    It depends. Is the model that is attacking in base contact with the whip-coil wraith? If yes, then they hit at I1. If no, then they hit at normal initiative. It doesn't matter who they target.

  8. #7
    Member Cortez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Age
    25
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x1)

    right, so bundling in models not in b2b attack at normal initiative?

  9. #8
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
    right, so bundling in models not in b2b attack at normal initiative?
    What people do is pile in on OTHER models as much as possible trying to avoid your whips. You mentioned 3 wraiths and one whip. Whip charges in, then when he piles in he HAS to get into base as much as possible but what they try to do is base your NON whipped ones. In the end anyone in base with the WHIP is Init 1, period...
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

  10. #9
    Member Hockeyman506's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,648
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    184 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cortez View Post
    right, so bundling in models not in b2b attack at normal initiative?
    I have no idea what 'bundling' means in your context.

    I'll say it again, because it's very straight-forward and simple:

    Any model in B2B with a whip-coil wraith strikes at initiative 1. Models not in B2B with the whip-coil wraith are not affected.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts