Welcome to Librarium Online!
Can an Archon choose to use his 4+ save instead of his 2+ Shadowfield in an effort to minimise burn out?
I suppose you could, but that would be silly. Why would you trade a 16% chance to fail for a 50% chance?
(WH40K) Dark Eldar - (12,000pts) Sisters of Battle - (5000pts) Dark Angels -(3500pts) (WHFB) Dark Elves - (10,000pts) Beastmen - (5000pts) Empire - (3000pts) Wood Elves - (1500pts)
I've seen something similar with Lychguard using their shields on purpose to bounce hits, but that according to the FAQ is not allowed, so I would agree with this previously, but I'm not sure about it lately.
Excellent point, I looked it up and it seems that they have shot down the ability to do this:
Q: Can you choose to take the dispersion shield
invulnerable save against Wounds with an AP of 4 or
A: No. You must always use the best save available.
This is a shame, it makes Vect slightly less viable too...
You don't even need the necron FaQ to tell you that you must take the best save available.Originally Posted by 5th Edition rulebook, page 24, "models with more than one save"
If you put it that way then you could say you have the advantage too but you don't exactly have toQuote Originally Posted by 5th Edition rulebook, page 24, "models with more than one save"
the model only ever gets to make one saving throw, but it has the advantage of always using the best available save.