Hive Guards - Ignoring Cover Saves - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Hive Guards - Ignoring Cover Saves

    Good day All!

    I am hoping to get a quick decisive answer to the following Q:

    Do the shooting attacks of the Hive Guard ignore all cover saves, including those created by an Ork Kustom Force Field for both vehicles and units?

    Hope this is straight forward... just trying to confirm based on a game I played today.

    Cheers!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    82
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Quoting the latest faq:
    "Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
    than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
    Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
    A: No."

  4. #3
    Shire can't handle me Warlord Vrrmik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    With the Fellowship of the Bling
    Posts
    6,167
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    2085 (x8)

    Cridideal is correct. No save unless the unit is in terrain cover.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Laughing God's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA Oregon
    Age
    27
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    So you can't get ANY cover saves from the Impaler Cannon? Not from terrain or special abilities? Cause the way I read it they get cover saves from area terrian but thats it.
    2500pts Emperors Children
    1000pts Dark Eldar Cabal of Agony Eternal
    3000pts Tyranids

  6. #5
    Senior Member Laughing God's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    USA Oregon
    Age
    27
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    Ahhh ok missed that last post I understand now. Most impressive.
    2500pts Emperors Children
    1000pts Dark Eldar Cabal of Agony Eternal
    3000pts Tyranids

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    187
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Its actually quite a pain in the ass.... These guys shoot through walls, not requiring LOS, and then they ingnore all Cover Saves (except for Area Terrain which Vehicles can get, since it ignores LOS)

    At least the damn things die relatively easy... for a T6 creature.

    Cheers!

  8. #7
    Shire can't handle me Warlord Vrrmik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    With the Fellowship of the Bling
    Posts
    6,167
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    2085 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Glockster83
    Its actually quite a pain in the ass.... These guys shoot through walls, not requiring LOS, and then they ingnore all Cover Saves (except for Area Terrain which Vehicles can get, since it ignores LOS)
    That's why they're so great!

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by CridiDeal View Post
    Quoting the latest faq:
    "Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
    than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
    Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
    A: No."

    How does this reconcile with the TAU FAQ on Smart Missile System and Seeker Missiles which also do not require LOS, but the FAQ gives many more options for cover saves? Are we supposed to treat Tau and Tyranids differently even though they have the same rule? For reference:

    Q: How are cover saves worked out for smart missilesystems and seeker missiles as they do not need line ofsight? (p27, 30)
    A: The target will only receive cover saves that are notbased on line of sight. This would include when at leasthalf the unit is in area terrain; or a vehicle with wargear or
    a special rule that means they are obscurred.

  10. #9
    Shire can't handle me Warlord Vrrmik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    With the Fellowship of the Bling
    Posts
    6,167
    Mentioned
    39 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    2085 (x8)

    They're different races and different weapons. Treat them differently.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    73
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Warlord Vrrmik View Post
    They're different races and different weapons. Treat them differently.

    No. They have the same Codex wording but different FAQ interpretations. You can't just rationalize that away so quickly! I really hope 6th ed. fixes a lot of the rule interpretation issues.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts