Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I like to put my res orb on a lord, that then joins a unit. This is because the lord cannot be targeted in CC, it gives me an extra person to fight in CC (2 S5 attacks with at least power) and it is cheap for the lord(65 for lord+orb). But what i see many people do is drop the lord and just stick it on a overlord. Is there something I am missing that makes this option a better one, or are the people just trying to save points to buy other fun things?
I use an overlord, lets me get a full 5 crypteks, but other than that I don't see why the overlord is really necessary, unless you do a 15+ unit of warriors to get relentless from the pharon upgrade, but if you stick to units of 9+character, the regular lords should work just about the same. they are not quit as good overall as individuals, but if you simply want the orb and a couple better CC attacks than what your squad can produce, their isnt much of an issue.
My Overlords sometimes act as Phaerons and sometimes fly around on command barges. Occasionally I have one of each
As for your question. I always, always make sure Lords are carrying the Res Orbs, never the Overlord (unless the game is so small I can't afford any Lords). Even if there is an Overlord in the unit as well, Lords always have the Orbs. This is for three reasons:
1) The Overlord can be targeted in CC (and frequently is). If he is assassinated, the Orbs is gone as well. Whereas a Lord is not an IC and is usually the last Necron standing.
2) If I want my Overlord to leave his unit to do some other task, the unit still has an Orb. If the Overlord carried it, the unit would no longer be able to benefit from it after he left.
3) Having Lords in the units provides extra Warscythes. This at least gives the unit a fighting chance in close combat. If the Ovelord is there as well, two Warscythes is even better!
"Peace, through superior firepower."
the guy above covers it pretty well.
You have to run atleast one overload to get a royal court, which could be a generic overlord or one of the named ones. You might be reading list where people are just tring to save points on the court and are not buying the extra lords. In low point games 1500 and below court memebers eat up points really quickly.
And lastly as a side note if you are not already doing it I would add the warscythe to any lord you run the extra 2d6 pen will save your ass if you are assaulted by a dreadnought and the str 7 really helps with monsterous creatures if they get inthe mix.
What most people do is run an OVERLORD in a command barge to get a court. I run 2 Overlords in command barges to get 2 courts, then load out my warriors and immortals with juicy 2 cryptek/lord combos. My favorite for my 10 man immortal squad is a Destro cryptek with solar pulse and gaze of flame with a Lord (warscythe+res orb). This has huge benefits. They can shoot long range with the destro cryptek, till they get in range to rapid fire something. In that case they're likely to eat a charge...gaze of flame denies the extra attacks from being assaulted AND hides a warscythe in there. I basically have a 3+/4++ with the res orb. I actually win combat sometimes, even though I go last.
So to answer your question, it depends on what you want to do. If you're working for squad survivability put it on a normal Lord so it cannot be picked out!
"There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda
Idk if he means he is using two separate courts or not, but yeah only one member from each court can join a unit. (Actually freshening up on my court rules atm. hah)
But as far as wargear goes, you can have a cryptek with both options of its type, its just if you do, you cannot use them on another cryptek in the same court. The items are one per court, not one per cryptek.