How to resolve Doom Scythe Death Ray using Triarch Starlker's tl ability? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Age
    38
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    11 (x1)

    How to resolve Doom Scythe Death Ray using Triarch Starlker's tl ability?

    So yeah, just as the title says...if you end up shooting a unit that was marked by a triarch stalker...what to you reroll? the 3d6 or rerolls to wound? I would assume that it would be reroll wounds, yeah?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Junior Member A.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,390
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    430 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by red78ivan View Post
    I would assume that it would be reroll wounds, yeah?
    No, twin-linking only allows you to roll wounds for template weapons.

    Death rays gain no benefits from the twin-linking rule.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Dark Trainer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Age
    38
    Posts
    1,877
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    102 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by A.T. View Post
    No, twin-linking only allows you to roll wounds for template weapons.

    Death rays gain no benefits from the twin-linking rule.
    What about the 'range' of the weapon (wasn't some part of that random, like the length of the line), that seems like rolling to determine some sort of shooting? Would that make it the ONLY shooting weapon that can't re-roll based on twin linked? Seems like it would need an FAQ.
    "There is only do, or do not. There is no try." - Yoda

  5. #4
    Junior Member A.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,390
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    430 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark Trainer View Post
    Would that make it the ONLY shooting weapon that can't re-roll based on twin linked?
    No, the same would be true of any non-template/blast attack that hits automatically - such as the Blood Angel's Blood Boil, Blood Lance, and Shackle Soul psychic powers.

    Technically you still get the benefits of twinlinking on a roll to hit ... should something actually require the attack to roll instead of hitting automatically.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Columbia, MD
    Posts
    279
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    94 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark Trainer View Post
    What about the 'range' of the weapon (wasn't some part of that random, like the length of the line), that seems like rolling to determine some sort of shooting? Would that make it the ONLY shooting weapon that can't re-roll based on twin linked? Seems like it would need an FAQ.
    You only get what the rules specifically say you get. For general twin-linking it's re-rolls to hit. For templates it's re-rolls to damage. For blast weapons it's re-rolls to scatter. Each of these is listed in the rulebook, but for weapons in a straight line (such as Death Ray or Imotekh's weapon) there is no rule listed. Thus, you get no added bonus for twin-linking one of these weapons.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts