Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Unfortunately, I have made a few mistakes as late with the Necron codex, so it prompted me to reread the codex until I get the fool thing right. I was reading Imotekh's entry and I have a question about the Staff of the Destroyer: In the entry for the staff it states " This ancient and ornamental staff of light...". I have been playing the Staff of the Destroyer as just the one time shot 2d6 line attack. I've never considered the Staff of the Destroyer as first a Staff of Light. So am I then right in saying that on top of the one shot deal, it can be used as a Staff of Light and therefore getting a Staff of Light's regular shooting attacks? I'll get it right one of these days....
I don't have the codex on me, but if that text is a part of the fluff it shouldn't be carried over into the game rules. However, if it is a part of the description of how the weapon works, then that's how it should work in the game, and thus should have the regular staff of light attack as well.
Like I said though, I don't have the codex on me, but I do not believe that you cannot use the staff of the destroyer like a regular staff of light.
"I have seen you humans, trying to forge an Empire in the name of a corpse"
Looks like purely fluff to me.
The staff of light reference is just fluff. The Staff of the Destroyer is just the one shot weapon shown in the rules. It is not a normal staff of light as well.
However, don't forget that Imotekh also has a Gauntlet of Fire as well.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
Even that wouldn't convince me to take him in most games
“The ultimate philosophical question, “Am I human or machine” is answered by many people, “I don’t care, as long as I am”
- Myron Krueger
It makes sense to me that he has some kind of ranged attack beyond one shot. I know he has the flame attack with the gauntlet of fire, but it never seems adequate. I'm not sure why they would mention staff of light in the descriptor unless it was a staff of light as well; this seems ambiguous at best.
You are right. However, the description of it being a staff of light is not in the fluff it is indeed in the description of the staff itself. There are a ton of special items that function as a regular wargear but have special properties. Right now, I will not use it as a staff of light, but I have a feeling this topic may be clarified in a future FAQ. Is there a GW rules helpline?
If the item had been intended to be used in ways other than the weapon profile and accompanying rules, there would have been a notice (often separate) from the fluff. For examples, look at most of the wargear, where the first paragraph is fluff and the remaining sections are rules. The only difference between Imotekh and the others is that most of the others say "This is a shooting weapon with the following profile:" before the rules are listed. An oversight, definitely, but not one that changes the fact that the rules are the rules and no amount of fluff changes what an item does.