Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do royal court members count as Independent characters regarding the Reanimation Protocol rolls?
For example, if I have a warrior squad and a cryptek has joined the unit, and the warriors die but the cryptek stays alive, do the 'dead' warriors roll their Reanimation Protocol rolls (since the Cryptek is a member of the unit) or the counters are removed (since Crypteks count as Independent Characters, due to their Ever-Living rule) ??
If you split your royal court and they join another unit (ie a cryptek with a unit of warriors) then the cryptek counts as part of the warriors unit for all game purposes.
If He is For me, Who shall stand against me
Crypteks that have left Royal Court to join another unit count as members of that unit for all intents and purposes. They don't have Independent Character rule.
Revenant Moon Necrons: (W/L/D) 0/1/0 (6th edition: 13/2/2)(5th edition: 14/6/4)(3rd edition Codex: 16/4/7)
XIX Legion: (W/L/D) 0/0/0 (5th edition: 14/12/2)(5th edition Codex: 4/3/0)
Black Legion: (W/L/D) 1/0/0 (6th edition: 2/3/0)
Something Wicked... Reikwald Beastmen: (W/L/D) 10/4/1
The Necron Codex no longer uses the term Independent Character.
All HQs are listed as Infantry (Character), including Royal Court Lords and Crypteks.
"Note that characters do not count as part of the unit for the purposes of Reanimation Protocols."
Well, it states that models cannot be revived if the unit is destroyed, and the cryptek would still count as dead for the purposes of the unit. However, since he died as part of the warrior unit, if he got up you could in theory grow warriors out of them with a Ghost Ark, since he is still part of that unit.
Pursued Guard Regiment Fluff WIP - http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ial-fluff.html
Royal Court models do not have the IC special rule. When they are added to units, they become part of that unit.
*For example, a unit of 5 Immortals and a Lord get shot at. All 5 Immortals are 'killed'. The Lord is the last model standing, but because he's part of that unit, the Immortals still get their RP rolls to return. Any that do return are, of course, placed in unit coherency with the Lord.* Edit: Ignore this, for it is nonsense.
In a second example, if all 5 Immortals were killed and all failed their RP rolls, this would leave the Lord on his own. If he subsequently got killed, he would still be allowed to make an RP roll because he has Ever Living.
Finally, I'm not 100% sure what happens if all 5 Immortals and the Lord get killed in the same volley. I assume the Lord would be able to make his Ever Living roll to return, but would the Immortals then be allowed to make their RP rolls? I think they would, since the Lord is part of the unit and the Immortals require a unit to return to. If the Lord failed his Ever Living roll, I guess the Immortals could not then make their rolls, as none of the original unit remains.
Last edited by Tzeentch Lord; May 29th, 2012 at 08:29.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
I'm afraid this is wrong, TL. In the last paragraph of the Reanimation Protocols rule it says that characters do not count as part of the unit for the purposes of Reanimation Protocols rolls. If a character is the only survivor of his unit, his presence is not sufficient to allow an RP roll.The Lord is the last model standing, but because he's part of that unit, the Immortals still get their RP rolls to return. Any that do return are, of course, placed in unit coherency with the Lord.
If the character is killed as well as the rest of the unit he had joined, only he will get to attempt to reanimate through the Ever Living rule. The squad he was with are unable to reanimate due to them being wiped out.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
Yeah, its kinda tricky, but you can make crons a real bizznatch to give up KP, b/c it's true once the unit dies they can't RP even if there is a tek/lord, but the enemy won't get the points and KP until that Lord/tek fails their RP roll as he still is part of the original unit. Have have hosed many a guy in tourneys because they thought they got points when i got the tek up and ran like hell for cover for the rest of the game.
as for everliving, it basically states that unless you have an ork mob standing on your marker so you have no place to be put back, you're almost always getting your Everliving roll.