Welcome to Librarium Online!
Pardon me if this has been adressed somewhere, but I can't find it...
I'm going to start playing Necrons, and I've just picked up the codex and found a question.
The codex says that Immortals are armed with gauss blasters, but may also be equipped with disruption fields for cc.
My question is, since the disruption field works exactly like a gauss weapon on vehicles, why would one care to add it to immortals, since they would be using their gauss weapons anyway?
Is this an oversight, or am I missing something in my reading?
In the necron codex page 14, first sentance. Distruption fields are for cc tank busting, gauss blasters are for shooting.
Don't bother with disruption on immortals or warriors. Neither place is worth putting disruption since they have very low numbers of attacks and therefore aren't going to roll a huge number of 6's. The only "necron" unit I would even consider putting a d field on would be a flayed one.
Thanks for the quick responses- you guys are fast!
I just wondered if it was redundant, since gauss blasters are assault weapons anyway. In other words, the way I read it, Immortals already get the gauss benefit when assaulting vehicles, so there's no reason at all to spend those points. Can anyone enlighten me?
By the way, thanks for the advice. I never planned to use a disruption field on anything other than scarabs or flayed ones.
No, no and no. A gauss weapon only works with ranged attacks, a disruption field only works in HtH.
Not to sound nitpicky, but I think they use the blasters in cc as well. I think destroyers do the same thing.Originally posted by The Mad Hatter@Nov 15 2004, 21:21
No, no and no. A gauss weapon only works with ranged attacks, a disruption field only works in HtH.[snapback]250935[/snapback]
I'm basing my assumption on the rulebook page 38 (which describes warriors firing at point blank as part of cc).
God, look at us, quibbling over a rule that I'm not planning to use. :blush:
When it says assualt or assualt 3 etc. it means that you can fire that weapon and then immediately assualt if within charging range.
Yes, you're right.Originally posted by red_talon@Nov 15 2004, 220
When it says assualt or assualt 3 etc. it means that you can fire that weapon and then immediately assualt if within charging range.[snapback]250952[/snapback]
I was just thinking about what weapon they would use in cc. Since no other weapon is listed, I assumed they would use their blaster, like a marine can use a bolt pistol in cc. And if that's true, if they're using the gauss blaster in cc, then wouldn't they get the special armor piercing rule as well?
No. Why would they give the unit the option of taking disruption fields if they already have the ability? When in close combat necrons use the blade on the end of their weapons as axes. If the gauss weapons were used in CC it would be safe to assume that every necron unit with a gauss weapon comes with a power weapon, since gauss weapontry makes a mockery of armor.
Under the entry for disruption fields: "...in exactly the same way as for ranged gauss weapons"
Yeah, I think you're right.Originally posted by The Mad Hatter@Nov 15 2004, 22:54
No. Why would they give the unit the option of taking disruption fields if they already have the ability? When in close combat necrons use the blade on the end of their weapons as axes.[snapback]250975[/snapback]
I know it's on the models, but since it wasn't explicitly stated, it just got me thinking. I mean, if I were a few million years old, I hope I would have enough intelligence to shoot my powerful gauss weapon through a portal rather than take a whack with an axe head!
Anyway, it's a moot point that seems to be better suited to fluff than to gameplay. Just thought I'd bring it up.
Thanks for your responses.