Scarabs - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Scarabs

  1. #1
    Senior Member TopHatCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In the warp somewhere.
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Okay, you have a tomb spyder making scarab swarms. When it makes them do they come out with a Disruption Field?

    Win/Lose/Draw
    Necrons: RETIRED
    Harlequins: RETIRED

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Since it says nothing about them coming with upgrades, I believe it is the regular average joe scarab that pops out of the tomb spyder

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    SA, Tx
    Posts
    352
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yep, no fields.

  5. #4
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    u don't need the d-fields. The tomb spyder will get 2d6 penetration and 3 attacks.

    The point of the scarabs is as a meat shield. The scarabs absorb CC and shooting wounds while the tomb spider does its thing.

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Can they still function as meat shields, even though the spyders are monstrous creatures and can be targetted directly?

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Gojiratoho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Earth> USA> NewYork> Schenectady> My Pants
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,791
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    74 (x4)

    Originally posted by Oneiros@Dec 17 2004, 06:42
    Can they still function as meat shields, even though the spyders are monstrous creatures and can be targetted directly?
    [snapback]278529[/snapback]
    Due to the current wording of the rules, no, Spyders cannot be targeted when in a unit with scarabs they created.
    Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!

    -Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.

  8. #7
    Senior Member TopHatCat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    In the warp somewhere.
    Posts
    265
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    sw33t! Ok that makes it all better. Thanks guys.
    Win/Lose/Draw
    Necrons: RETIRED
    Harlequins: RETIRED

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    98
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    I can't find anything in the BBB that says that something like a scarab can take shots for a spyder, in fact I find a lot that says the opposite. Spyders are Monstrous Creatures (Large Targets), and you can choose to fire at a Large Target even if there's a closer unit. While I am willing to entertain the idea that scarabs would take hits in CC first due to the "Majority" rule, I don't think an itty-bitty scarab could take a lascannon shot meant for a Tomb Spyder.

  10. #9
    Member Locutus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Stavanger
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    There is another topic that has a hot discussion about wether you can target a TS or not... But fluff wise, I have no trouble picturing a huge TS who is obscured in a swarm of lots and lots of scarabs. Some flying, others crawling over the TS and taking fire for the TS. Only to be build back tobether again
    - Resistance is Futile -

    - I'm not a Nerd! I'm a 13th level Paladin -

    - Jesus saves ..... and takes half damage -

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ängelholm (Sweden)
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Originally posted by Oneiros@Dec 19 2004, 02:23
    I can't find anything in the BBB that says that something like a scarab can take shots for a spyder, in fact I find a lot that says the opposite. Spyders are Monstrous Creatures (Large Targets), and you can choose to fire at a Large Target even if there's a closer unit. While I am willing to entertain the idea that scarabs would take hits in CC first due to the "Majority" rule, I don't think an itty-bitty scarab could take a lascannon shot meant for a Tomb Spyder.
    [snapback]279824[/snapback]
    Actually, what that rule actually implies is that if there's a unit close to you, and there's a Monstrous Creature further away, you can choose to fire at the MC instead. It doesn't say anything about singling out Monstrous Creatures in a unit. If a Monstrous Creature that isn't a character is part of a unit (f.e. Tomb Spyders and Scarab Swarms), that unit will take hits/wounds as a whole. There is no way you can single out a MC, since this isn't stated in the BBB.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts