Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here's a project I've been working on as part of The Guide to Mech Tau. I thought I'd post it here to get y'alls opinions. There are a few of these that I'm not sure about (hence why I'm looking for other opinions) and I'm always interested in hearing any other questions that you think should be added. Here goes!
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Do jet-pack equipped troops get to move in the assault phase on the turn they arrive via Deep Strike?
A: No. This is stated directly in the v4 FAQ.
Q: Must my jet-pack equipped troops take a dangerous terrain test for ending their movement in difficult terrain?
A: If they used their jet-pack to get there, yes. Alternatively, jet-pack equipped troops (even gun drones) may elect to 'walk' into the difficult terrain but must then make a difficult terrain roll to see how far they can go. Note the difference between a dangerous terrain test (roll a d6 for each model, one model dies for each 1 rolled) and a difficult terrain test (the unit may move 2d6 take the highest inches). Also, note that jet-pack equipped troops that move in the assault phase, must always do so using their jet-pack. You cannot choose to 'walk' into difficult terrain with your assault move unless you are actually assaulting an enemy squad.
Q: Must my jet-pack equipped troops take a dangerous terrain test for leaving difficult terrain?
A: No. Only vehicles need to take dangerous terrain tests for leaving difficult terrain.
Q: So if I'm reading this right, you're saying jet-pack troops can start their move behind a forest, roll a difficult terrain check to walk into the forest, shoot at enemies on the other side (assuming the forest is < 6" thick) and then use their jet-pack to blast backwards out of the forest out of LoS, all without risking a crash?
A: Yes. This is true. It's also very annoying for your opponent.
Q: Do the Tau Blacksun Filters qualify as 'Night Vision/Acute Senses' as described on p.75? Does a team-leader with a BSF confer the benefits to his squad?
A: I have seen no official ruling on this. However, the two rules are functionally different and as such, I would say no. As stated in Codex: Tau on p.18, only models equipped with a BSF receive the benefits.
Q: In 4th edition, passengers riding in a vehicle that is wrecked after moving >6" the previous turn have their failed to-wound rolls re-rolled as stated on p.68. This greatly increases the number of casualties our Firewarriors take in the event of a crash. Is it still wise to move >6" in order to have all penetrating hits count as glancing given the much greater damage that can result from a potential crash?
A: Yes, crashes are more damaging, but it's still almost always better to move >6".
Q: What is the fire arc for Devilfish/Hammerhead Bust Cannons and attached Drones?
A: Use the range of motion on the model. For Devilfish, this means the Burst Cannon has a 180 degree firing arc. For Hammerhead Burst Cannons and attached Drones, this means you can fire in a 360 degree arc.
Q: Can the Devilfish Drones fire if I suffered a 'Crew Shaken' result the previous turn?
A: No, embarked passengers and vehicle weapons may not shoot. In an ironic twist, however, if you disembark the Drones during the movement phase, they may at that point shoot during the shooting phase. But if you leave them attached, they cannot shoot.
Q: Can troops in a Devilfish disembark if the transport suffered a 'Crew Stunned' result the previous turn?
A: Yes. The description of 'Crew Stunned' on page 67 says the vehicle may not move or shoot and passengers within the vehicle may not shoot, but says nothing that prevents troops from disembarking and shooting. Also, note that in 4th edition Stunned vehicles do not scatter like they did in 3rd edition so you can move your troops 6" after disembarking and then shoot.
Q: If I have drones attached to a Devilfish or Hammerhead and I move the vehicle and then detach the Drones, do the Drones get to move in the Assault phase on the turn they detach?
A: I have no idea. Drones disembarking are treated like passengers, and passengers cannot normally assault out of closed-topped transports (which includes our Devilfish). However, the rulebook often distinguishes between assaulting and moving in the assault phase. Furthermore, troops with jet-packs cannot move in the assault phase after deep striking in a similar fashion to how assault troops cannot assault after deep striking. These two facts seem to suggest that the Drones in fact cannot move in the assault phase after disembarking from a Devilfish, but in reality, there is no rule stated anywhere.
Q: Can Ethereals deploy into a Devilfish?
A: Yes, as stated on p.81 of the rulebook.
Q: Must I declare which Devilfish my Ethereal is being deployed into?
A: No, as stated on p.81 of the rulebook.
Q: If I bring a Monat Battlesuit with 2 attached drones and the drones die from shooting, do I need to take a morale check for having taken 25% casualties?
A: Yes, lost drones count for the puposes of 25% casualty tests.
Q: If I bring a Monat Battlesuit with 2 attached drones and the drones die, do I need to take man alone checks each turn?
A: Yes. (At least I think? Is this right?)
Q: If I bring a Monat Battlesuit with 2 attached drones and the drones die, is my Battlesuit still a scoring unit?
A: No, lost drones count for determining whether or not the unit is above 50% for the purposes of victory points and claiming objectives.
Q: If I bring a Monat Battlesuit with 2 attached drones and the drones die and the Battlesuit subsequently flees, can he rally?
A: Yes. Lost drones do not count for determining whether or not the unit is above 50% for the purposes of rallying.
Q: Broadsides are classed as infantry and therefore can start on the table in games that use the Escalation special rule. Drones are classed as jump-infantry and must therefore start in reserve. Will a unit of Broadsides with attached drones begin on the table in games that use Escalation?
A: Yes, the unit is a 'Unit of Broadsides' which happens to have purchased drones as wargear. Since 'Units of Broadsides' begin on the table in games that use Escalation, any wargear drones brought with them will also begin on the table.
Q: The Codex: Tau entry for Aun'shi says he carries Photon and EMP grenades. If Aun'shi elects to nominate one Firewarrior squad as his retinue, does he confer the benefits of the grenades to the entire squad? What if he begins the game as an IC and simply joins a Firewarrior squad?
A: No. The entries for EMP and Photon grenades specifically say that only models equipped with the grenades receive the benefits.
Q: Since the Dawn Blade makes Commander Farsight count as a Monstrous Creature, does he always pass the leadership test required to target an enemy unit that is not the closeset?
A: No, the Codex states that the Dawn Blade makes Commander Farsight "count as a Monstrous Creature in hand to hand combat." Therefore he is not a Monstrous Creature when not in close combat.
How bout this one:
Q: Are skimmers deployed at the begining of the game assumed to have moved >6" for the purposes of turning penetrating hits to glancing? How about the Pathfinder Devilfish if it moves >6" with its pre-game move?
A: Um... uh... ya got me. I ain't know. Anyone? Anyone? Bueler?
Personally, I find the rules with Drones to be totally bogus.
For example, If you have an upgraded lone Broadside, with Drones, I think its bull **** that he might panic and flee the table if his Drones got killed, whereas... A non-upgraded Broadside would be unshakable simply because he didnt bring them.
Drones SHOULD NOT count for things like morale checks and last man standing.
Drones are made to be EXPENDABLE. They should not cause a hardened Shas'vre veteran to panic and flee the table if his little droid friends should happen to die. Thats what they are made for.
*Sigh* Stupid, Stupid, Stupid.
4th edition ruined Drones, I really hope they fix things. Cuz, as it is, Shield Drones are more than useless. Might as well sink all your points in freaking Krootox.
Those drones have Artificial Intelligent feelings too. Maybe the Shas'vre got to know these little buggers like brothers......
Cum catapultae proscriptae erunt tum soli proscript catapultas habebunt.
Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
A.I. doesnt nessicarily mean emotion and feelings.
In fact, programming emotion into a drone would be quite foolish, and against the idea.
Artificial Intelligence is intended to allow them to overcome obstacles, and predict enemy movements and take appropriate action.
It does NO Tau Commander ANY good, to have a Shield Drone with feelings...
Shield Drone X2-33 Is protecting its Commander, it loves its Commander... its purpose is to protect its Commander... but, look, an enemy is firing at him. *Calculating Trajectory* Oh no, That blast is going to hit him, I must get in the way. *Calculating Flight Path - Calculating Angle - Activating Flight System*.. while flying to intercept the malicious attack, the Drone thinks... You know, I like being a Drone... And, I just saw my buddy X2-32 fly in front a similar blast, and he was destroyed. No.. I dont want to die! *Re-Calculating Flight Path* The Drone desides not to fly in the way or the blast, and the Commander takes the hit, as per Majority Armour / Toughness rules.
Emotions = Bad
Hey folks, I know we all are disappointed with the drone rules, but I'd like this thread to stay away from the 'drones suck and I wish GW would fix them' topic. Are there any other sticky issues that you all have that you think would make a good entry into an FAQ?
Pretty sure skimmers starting out DO NOT count as moving. That's why the eldar and ourselves are always extra eager to get first turn so that they can get the skimmers moving before the enemy has a chance to fire upon them.
A nice thing to have FAQ'd would be clarification on Gun Drones for Hammerheads.
I mean, with WYSIWYG, how the heck can you put Gun Drones AND the 2ndary weapon systems on a Hammerhead without complex Conversion work? Cuz, otherwise it would look pretty crappy.