Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is it legal to take a D. Lord as the Wraith Lord? The base end up being a little smaller, is this illegal for tournaments, excluding variblilities of them games masters.
How about taking a Wraithlord, or Spyder Lord as a lord on foot, anyproblems there?
For those who are confused, these 'Lords' are:
Wraith Lord, a Lord body mounted onto a Wraith tail, a large part of a Wraiths tale.
Spyder Lord, a Lord on the D. platform with Tomb Spyder legs jammed up each exhaust.
Plus are there anymore variations?
Out of inguinuity I made a lord from the spare Destroyer torso, head and spine from the D lord boxed set. mounted them onto space marine legs, shaved down with a drill press, then given the spare arms from the D Lord. Heres the coolest , not fulled painted yet, stocky, fighty, ResOrb plus viel Lord on foot.
All I know is that when re-basing your models, they must be mounted on the base they came with, or a bigger one. You can't have a smaller base the the one supplied, or the one intended if none are supplied.
So I'd say it'smillegal in tournaments of the stricter sort. just grab a bigger base and you're home free...
Nothing wrong with either of those Lords if, as CryoGenFX has pointed out, you base them as they were originally supposed to be based.
Conversion is all part of the game, GW encourage it, so have fun!
Terminator Based Custom Chapter
So for a 'Wraith Lord' I'd have to mount it on the flying base or something the same size?
No, if the model is a Lord, you'd mount it on a Lord base or larger. Since the lord base is a regular trooper base, and you can get a Lord with a Wraith tail on one, go for it. If you are modding out a Destroyer lord, you'd need to mount it on either a flying base or a large figure base or something larger(MC base).
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
What is the significance of the base size?" Is there some inherent advantage to having a smaller base that causes the need for a rule not to do so?
Woa, that is a very cool lord, and army, I do like a good White Necron army, they look really good. Cool move with putting Spyder Arms on the D's
Whats that Wraith holding, is it another Wraith? And whats the other one got for an arm?
Is that 3 seperate Necron armies, or has some stuff just not been finished yet?
I feel bad now, my Warriors look no where near as good close up like those ones do, time has been sent on those.
Chaos Necrons!? Thats cool, how are those played and whats the alien thing do?
I can only assume it's relative to close combat; i.e. base-to-base contact and what's within 2". Think about how many scarabs I could get in close combat with a unit if I could model it as one scarab on a 1" round base. Currently it's tough to get all 9 of my bases around a 5 man squad in tight terrain or fighting over cover, not because of number, but size. Imagine having 30 of them just swarming over the wall, each with 3 wounds... I'd lock up all sorts of units.Originally posted by Shorn@Jan 4 2005, 18:14
What is the significance of the base size? Is there some inherent advantage to having a smaller base that causes the need for a rule not to do so?[snapback]293336[/snapback]
('nAv) - noun - Middle English, A tricky deceitful fellow
<span style='color:green'>0010 Types of Fleshbags, Necon Army</span> 5/3/1 - 1/2 at the tourney last weekend, (sigh)
"There are 10 types of people. Those that understand binary and those that don't."
Yes. A C'tan is a lot harder to kill with Termies (Yes, you can kill them with termies if you have enough) on a 1" base than on a large base.Originally posted by Shorn@Jan 4 2005, 16:14
What is the significance of the base size?" Is there some inherent advantage to having a smaller base that causes the need for a rule not to do so?[snapback]293336[/snapback]
But in games like Lotr, you need to be in base-to-base contact to fight, which is a huge difference compared to 40k.
Also, some guys might not be able to fit in certain areas, eg a bloodthirster fitting through a 1" doorway.