Warpblast Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Hi there,
    I was playing my Tyranid army the other day when a question about WarpBlast came up. My friend said that according to the Codex wording, WarpBlast can only be used in place of a ranged bio-weapon. So no ranged bio-weapon = no WarpBlast according to him.
    We argued back and forth. So, would you be kind enough to set us straight?


    Oh, just as a side note. I'm new so if I said too much or anything please forgive me. Secondly, I think everyone here rocks. Even through I'm new at Warhammer 40k, by reading THESE forums, I've been able to hold my own if not win a few. Keep up the good work!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Bio-hazard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Well all that means is that if you had 2 venom cannons and warp blast for example, you could use the blast, and fire a cannon, not both cannons.

    Keep in mind that it is a Psychic attack, therefore it logically does not require a bio-weapon to fire it.

    These guys do rock, i am only new too, and i know exactly what you mean. I had a look through some of the other forums (including others on LO), and they shut each other down. All there is in here is constructive criticism, i reckon it's great.

    Just my 2 cents.

  4. #3
    Senior Member old 4 eye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    250
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    you can shoot 1 bioweapon and warpblast on your HT I believe thats what your talking about it takes the place of one of the bioweapon attacks not both so your right if you say 1 and 1, 2 and 1 is illegal to shoot in one turn
    W/D/L

    Hivefleet Omalancho 1/0/0 my current army

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    The arguement is that a Hive Tyrant =MUST= be equiped with a ranged weapon to be able to use the WarpBlast.
    I agree to what is replyed so far. That is exactly how I read it but he thinks otherwise (that the Zoanthrop must have special rules for being a psycher, whatever that may be).

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    CANADA BABY!!!! WOOHOO!!!
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    you dont need to have a ranges bio weapon... my tyrant will be haveing Duel STalons and the WBlast... you dont need a ranged bioweapon...it just means that it takes the place of one when its fired
    "Come children let us consume." Mother said. "May we grow ever more and destroy all that hinder us!"
    And all her children went out to do her bidding

    --Children of Hive Fleet Edimadra

  7. #6
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    The Warp Blast is shot instead of a ranged bioweapon, and counts as a weapon itself.... If Your Tyrant does not have ranged bioweapons, You're shooting the WBlast instead of a bioweapon You would be allowed to shoot if You had them.

    Thus a Tyrant with no ranged bioweapons can fire their WBlast, and a Tyrant with a VCannon and WBlast can fire both the VC and WB in the same turn (the WB is fired instead of the other bioweapon it would be allowed to shoot, since in 4thEd TMCs may fire two weapons).
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts