Lash Whips - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Lash Whips

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)
    1 (x0)

    Question about Lash whips
    The FAQ states that you can use lash whips whenever the model can use his normal attacks.

    What does this mean?

    1. Any enemy 2 inch away from lash whip model loose one attach.

    2. Any enemy BtB with model that is 2 inch away from model with lash whip
    loses one attach

    3. All of the above

    4. Or....................


  2. Remove Advertisements

  3. #2
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

    35 (x4)

    The lash whip clarification is a major mental meltdown on GW's part.

    By the literal rules lash whips can be used without base contact now, and it's rather clear that you are supposed to be able to substract attacks from models without base contact, but since GW screwed it up they forgot to remove the restriction regarding base contact in the lash whip rules themselves.

    Essentially, with the lash whip rules modified as explained in the FAQ they now read like this:

    "All enemy models in base contact with one or more craature with lash whips reduce their number of attacks by one, to a minimum of one. Lash whips may be used whenever the model may make its normal attacks"

    So essentially you can use the lash whips without base contact...but their effect without base contact is nil.


  4. #3
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Helsinki, Finland
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

    86 (x7)

    My interpretation of this is that model may use the the LshWhps within support range, and doesn't need to be in BtB contact (as per FAQ).

    Any enemy models in BtB contact with the Tyranid models being supported by the LshWhp models suffer from the LshWhp penalty... This would be in line with both the FAQ and the remaining Codex rules for LshWhps and who they affect.

    Of course, just my interpretation, and it does suggest a change into the Codex wording not fully backed by the FAQ. Well just have to wait for the new Codex to clear things up... I for one don't think GW will bother to clarify the 3rdEd Codex this late.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts