Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi folks. I'm a realatively new 40k player and new to these forums though I'm an experienced war gamer from way back. I've started playing 40k with some friends who are also newbs and we're having a lot of fun, but naturally we're making a lot of mistakes in the learning process Any guidance here is appreciated.
My question is this: My friend is playing Tyranids, and he insists that there's a mutation he can give a member of each of his broods that makes one creature a synapse creature, thus making them automatically pass all morale checks. The way I read it, the Hive Tyrant is a synapse creature and that all Tyranids within 12" of him pass all morale checks, and I know that for 10 points he can make one member of his brood a hive node, thus giving them 10 leadership... but I can't find any reference anywhere to a power as he describes it. It seems pretty brutal, since for 10 measly points he can ignore the whole "instinctive behavior" aspect of the Tyranids and the whole morale part of the game rules, so I really suspect it's a misinterpretation of the hive node mutation on his part, but I thought I'd ask here and see if there was something I was missing.
Also... can a hive Tyrant use psychic powers and fire a weapon in the same turn? I understand that monstrous creatures can fire two weapons in one turn, but does a psychic power count as a "weapon" in this case? Page 52 of the rulebook seems to say that you can use a psychic power OR shoot, but not both unless otherwise specified, at least the way I read it.
Thanks in advance!
Welcome to the boards.
to answer your question.
1. your friends means the Hive-node upgrade, this provides only an icrease to the Ld value, it is not synapse, it doesn't mention that hive node provide synapse in the codex and of such it isn't.
2. Yes, the HT is classed as a mountstrous creature and of such can fire 2 weapons per turn, if he is equipped with warpblast ( psychic power ) and a venomcannon ( normal shooting weapon ), the tyrant can stil fire both.
the rules in the tyranid codex mentions specificly that it counts as a ranged weapon.
Hope this hellps and Uzi-99 will certainly come and correct or add me.
Hive node only grants the leadership bonus. Your friend still has to take all leadership tests if he's outside synapse range. This includes instinctive behavior!
On the other hand, with the improved Ld value, he's much more likely to retain control of his gaunts. IMHO, Hive node is one of the most useful Tyranid mutations, more so than any of the others, since it's cheep and highly effective.
Yeah, that mutation only alows the brood to become Ld10. Its one of my favourite mutations because when you do have to roll for IB, youve got as much chance of passing as Necrons! Do remember that he must take the test when he is out of synapse range. I've often forgot for other units with Ld 10 when they get out of synapse range.
With the phsycic power, I have a query. If Tyranid Monstrous Creatures can fire 2 weapons at once, could they fire they Psycic Blast twice? That would be great when within 18" because then the Hive Tyrant could fire 2 Str. 10 shots at tanks. That'd be nasty. You could also focus those shots at a commander!
"If a ninja does anything anywhere it won't make a sound, but if it does it's probably gonna be the last sound you hear."
Fast and Deadly
TMCs can fire two weapons a turn, not one weapon twice. So they can fire WB only once, and then whatever other weapon they are equipped with.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
1. Correct on the Hive Node... Many new players seem to think it confers Synapse, when it does not. The mention about Synapse in the Hive Node rules is just a fluff-reference, while improved Ld is the actual thing they get game-wise.
2. Technically yes, thanks to some pretty specific wording... WBlast states two things:
"Counts as a weapon"
"Instead of a ranged bio-weapon"
As such, going by the Codex wording, You can shoot a normal ranged bioweapon and WBlast, the WBlast firing instead of the other bioweapon You would be allowed to shoot.
However, we must remember that the Codex is relatively old, and GW has a bad habit of screwing up their own rules... As such, my take might not be the way they've intended for it to be done. Thus it's better that You discuss amongst Yourselves whether or not this should be allowed.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."