Monolith Rule - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Monolith Rule

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Hey im realatively new to the forums and i just had a question about how one of the monolith rules works ( BTW no worries, own codex just need clarification)

    Ive been hearing all over he place that the monolith allows a second wwb roll, can some plz clear this up for me (how does it apply) Im kinda confused with the wording in the codex.

    Power corrupts... Absolute Power is kinda neat though...

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Klop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phelan, California
    Age
    28
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If you move your units through the teleporter and on the turn of deployment they die they get a second WBB roll, at least that is how i think it is. hope this helps.
    Right is right, and left is wrong.

  4. #3
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    klop's post has a few extra words mistakenly in there, dunno what he means by deployment.

    Basically, if a necron model fails its wbb roll at the beginning of any turn, if you opt to teleport that unit through the monolith, you may reroll the failed wbbs.

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  5. #4
    Member Klop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Phelan, California
    Age
    28
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Oh, i thought it only counted the turn that you used the portal, so it's any time a unit with the WBB roll dies and fails, then you can choose to make unit appear through the portal.... wait, how does that affect unit coherency?
    Right is right, and left is wrong.

  6. #5
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    no, u have to pull the whole unit through the portal, not just the fallen guys.

    So you are limited to only doing it for 1 squad per turn.

    So put that squad up on the front line, let them get hammered. 50% stand up, then 50% of the remainder stand up. So out of 10 dead guys, 7-8 stand back up.
    It is a brutal tactic, if your opponent has nothing that can handle the monolith

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    Originally posted by justinb67@Mar 11 2005, 033
    So you are limited to only doing it for 1 squad per turn.
    [snapback]349626[/snapback]
    Per Monolith
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  8. #7
    Senior Member justinb67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Victorville, CA
    Posts
    709
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x2)

    Originally posted by Chaosbrynn@Mar 11 2005, 13:51
    Per Monolith
    [snapback]350054[/snapback]
    lol, yup, if u are crazy enough to field 2 monoliths, then yes, you could double wbb 2 squads a turn.

    Justin
    Wednesday nights at GW (Ontario Mills in Ontario, CA)
    W/L/T
    14/3/0

    Latest Victims
    4-7-05 - SoB 1200, S&D Omega, Opponent was new.
    4-7-05 - ME! Chris beats me again with his space wolves (he is a good palyer without his eldar).

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    lol ya per monolith. my oppenents would be like :realmad: :wacko: (N) and maybe a little of :unsure: if i opted to put two monoliths. but since i think the monolith is a point sink, i usually dont use one unless i face some horde armies. But it does have some nasty rules.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts