Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I asked this in "rules help" where it belonged but no one wants to field it. Maybe im just being dense. Heres the question.
Assume you have a Dest. Lord with lightning field hooked up to a squad of X amount of Scarabs. Now lets say a power fist attacks the scarabs and insta-kills say 3 bases due to str vs. tough.
Now, does the one wielding the power fist take 3 str3 hits or 9 str3 hits?
I'm no store judge, but my perusal of the "instant death" rule uncovers nothing about inflicting more wounds than normal - merely a model that takes a wound with double strength-to-toughness "is removed as a casualty," regardless of the number of wounds remaining. Since the Lightning Field entry specifically says "for every wound inflicted in combat," I'd imagine that that means that a power fist that kills 3 scarab bases due to 3 instadeath attacks would get 3 return attacks from the LF.
"... For every wound inflicted... ..."
It doesn't matter how the wounds are inflicted. If a Scarab swarm gets Instant Killed, it loses 3 wounds, meaning 3 hits will be struck back.
It also specifically says:
"... ...if one attacking unit inflict three wounds they would therefeor take three hits in return."
I talked to my roommate a bit about this one (he works in one of the stores and sees a lot of rules calls). He reminded me that the wounds lost to instadeath do count for morale checks and the like (you've lost x amount of your staying capacity, etc.), but agrees that only one wound has been *inflicted* in this case. A Librarian's force weapon apparently works the same way - kills the target outright via a psychic test, and all lost wounds count for combat resolution, but it's only inflicting one wound. The model is killed by the wound, not dealt additional wounds.
Unfortunately, it comes down to whether "inflict" is considered from the attacker's or defender's perspective. Has the necron unit had 3 wounds inflicted upon it, or has the attacker inflicted 1 wound upon the target? Both are true - which counts? If one were to try to apply the real-world consideration (always iffy, but occasionally insightful for "sprit of the rule" thinking), hitting an electrified unit harder, or hitting one that's weaker, won't change the shock you get from contacting the field.
Shouldn't be using Lighting Field in the first place though.Originally Posted by windowlicker
in the necron codex it says "for every wound inflicted on them" so obviously its from the defenders perspective.
which means instant killing a scarab base would count as inflicting 3 wounds.
CBrate... why shouldnt I be using Lightning Field?
Also thatnk you all for your replys.
It's not all that useful in the first place.Originally Posted by windowlicker
lightning field is useful against tyranids but it sucks vs other armies.
the lightning field is pretty much only used on a lord in a large scarab squad, against horde armies, so i am suprised this problem hasn't come up previously