Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ive never seen anybody talk about this, but has any ever tried attaching a Shas'el/O drone squad? They would make pretty good body guards. Lots of wounds, cheaper than Crisis Body guards, plenty of attacks and they have a high Ld now. They can cause pinning, lascannons, Krack mssls, or any other S8+ and AP3 weapon cant instant kill or HQ. At the very least keeping them together so that the HQ cannot be targeted (cause he is independant).
Also, why not pair the HQ with stealth suits? Does the Stealth ability work since the majority of the unit has it. If nothing else keep them close, so the enemy cant see the stealths, but cannot not target the HQ cause he is within in 6" of a unit. ^_^
Granted teaming a HQ up with stealth suits probably wont win games, but it wil annoy the PISS out of your opponet, he cant spot the stealth suits if there past 36", the HQ is 6" up. He can jsj for 6". Thats about...oohh.... 24 inches..... hmmmm... what shoots at 24"? or 36?
The Sneaky Body Guard Team
-Mssl Pod, Plasma, : It depends on the fight
-Fusion or Flamer: Only used if the enemy can close the gap quickly with Armor or uber fast assualt units, nids, Lost and Damned, etc...
-Target lock if attached
Attached or Unattached
Stealth suits x6
Drone Body Guard Team
Shas'el / O
-Hdwr Drone controller
8x Drones Squad
Just a thought...
Who brings a Hammerhead to a 500 point fight?!
-Local 'Nid Player
well the thing about the drone thingy ive mentioned the idea before but the mayor flaw is that he loses his IC status if joined by a cuple of drones. but a squad of 8 and he is in ther precense (not attached) is a rather cool squad
the stealth thingy seems rather cool i think i should try that. but a team of 6 XV15 might not seem that dangerus to an opponant untill they unleash there burst cannons.
but i will try that later tonnight and tell you the result.
SICK IDEA with the stealths and the hq very very nice. stay 30 inches from the enemy move 6 let loose some damage and move back 6 inches. now the oppenent has to make a prety good roll to actually see the stealths.
nice good job with the idea have to start using that now (Y) (Y) (Y) :shifty:
Well it sounds good, give the Commander extra protection by keeping him with the stealth suits. Can he join a unit of stealth suits during the battle? It would be good to deepstrike the commander, and then join the stealth suits in the same turn for the extra protection, because that way you could still infiltrate the stealths. Badger nice one.
Joining the Stealths with an IC negates the Stealth ability. Since it does not follow Majority rules, the Stealths lose their special ability when joined by a model which does not have the same ability, as per the IC rules on 4thEd page 50, right column, "Characters Joining & Leaving Units", seventh paragraph, line one: "In some cases..." This is quite clearly one of those cases.
Someone might argue that it could go either way (since it's not specifically mentioned in rules or FAQ that they lose this ability), but since it is not mentioned the wise choice is to choose the more conservative reading, which results in the Stealths losing their special rule.
Fluffwise, it goes like this:
The enemy sees the joined model, and consequently will hit the Stealths with any "stray" shots aimed at the IC.
"Hey, look at that lone Crisis over there! All weapons, open fire!"
BlamblamratatatatataZZAPPPboom!!! (Weapons being fired)
Splakkpweyoongsplakkthunk (the sound of weapons hitting the previously undetected Stealth Suits which are clustered near the IC)
"What the... What are those shots hitting? Well, guess there was more to those Tau than we originally saw!"
If You disagree with the above, the alternative is that You let the enemy target the joined IC separately since it is not covered by the Stealth rules (thus making this an exception from the "normal" situation mentioned in the chapter on shooting at ICs).
Either way, the IC can be fired upon.
Yes, I am aware that any Drones controlled by the Stealths gain the special ability... However, that only applies to Drones slaved to the Stealths, not other models joining them.
Last edited by Uzi-99; April 3rd, 2005 at 16:49.
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."
Alright you took the wind out of my sails for joining the Stealth suits Uzi, but what about keeping the IC unattached? I dont see why that should not work.
IC is located within in 6" to Stealth Squad, because of that he should not be able to be targeted, due to the fact he is an IC (just because there stealth doesnt change that). The Stealth ability only applies to when being shot at, being seen. So the enemy attempts to shoot at Stealth suits and fails be in spotting range (as a result they cannot shoot anybody else).
If a friendly squad is behind the Stealth suits the enemy must take a leadership test to shoot them even though there not going be able to shoot at the Stealth Squad because there outside 36". So the enemy squad fails and has to shoot the closest unit, the Stealth suits, who are outside of 36", the enemy fails to be in spotting range, they cant shoot. Stealth Armor does not apply to infiltrate rules you cannot set up within 12"-18" because, it does not make them "invisible" just not able to be shot at. Is it abuse of the rules, yes, but I cant see why its not illegal.
I dont have a book at the moment, so I cannot argue about the IC costing the whole squad of stealths there Stealth Armor ability even thought they would be majority.
Who brings a Hammerhead to a 500 point fight?!
-Local 'Nid Player
Check the 4th ed FAQ. Your opponent never needs to take a Ld check to shoot past Stealths.
T0nka I don't think the idea their describing anything to do with the LD check, its more to with the IC 'untargetable unless the closest target". The idea being is that you run the Shas'o next to and slighty behind the stealth team. The enemy tries to shoot the Shas'o, but have to target the nearby squad. They therefore have to roll for the spotting distance to the Stealths, and (for the purposes of this demonstration) fail, nullifying their shooting.
In 4th edition you can't shoot at an IC unless it's the closest. There's nothing about being within 6", I think that was a 3rd edition thing (not sure though, I never read that rulebook).
To expand on Tonka's post, the FAQ actually says enemy units can always choose to ignore the Stealth team in the Shooting Phase when determining the closest enemy unit. If the stealths are the closest, and the IC behind them, then they can be ignored, making the IC the closest target and shoot-at-able.
Think about it logically, the enemy doesn't think the Stealths are even there unless they try and look for them, and if they don't think the Stealths are there, they're not going to worry about trying to shoot past them.
Anyway, how often do you have Stealths standing out in front 36" away from the enemy, with the rest of the army hiding behind them? What a waste of pulse rifles..
o.k the stealth suit idea is completely useless. You can't get any benefits whatsoever. What if the commander was attached to the gun drones? When the gun drone numbers drop to 4 or less, at least they'll still be using Ld 9 or 10. Gun drones still move at the same speed and the command, and still have better shots than a fire warrior. This might work, if you're inclined on fielding gun drones.