Quick question about the hive tyrant! - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Member dubba07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quick question about the hive tyrant!

    Hi everyone i am new to the site and wanted to know if you can help me out. i gotta know...
    Can the hive tyrant fire the warp blast and venom cannon in the same turn under the new monstrous creature rules? thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    It's a Trap! Warrior47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Age
    25
    Posts
    1,750
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    168 (x5)

    Quote Originally Posted by dubba07
    Hi everyone i am new to the site and wanted to know if you can help me out. i gotta know...
    Can the hive tyrant fire the warp blast and venom cannon in the same turn under the new monstrous creature rules? thanks!
    yes as long as it is only 1 vcm

  4. #3
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    It is technically possible to fire both due to the wording of the rules for WBlast:

    1) "Counts as a weapon"
    2) "Fired instead of A bio-weapon"

    Thus a Tyrant could fire both a single ranged bioweapon and the WBlast, since it would fire the WB instead of the second weapon it would be allowed to fire.

    However, note that some people might disagree with You (or rather, us) on this... It's possible, but most probably not what has been intended by the designers. As such, You should clear this up beforehand with Your opponent, providing the points I just showed to You.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  5. #4
    Member dubba07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thats how I saw it too. My buddy I play with doesnt have a problem with it but has anyone asked a Games Workshop Rep about this? Or does anyone know how i could contact one to let everyone know?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    you can take VC+WB. I asked the rep. he said yes.

  7. #6
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    Good news to hear although it might become redundant with the new codex.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    not necessarily. nothing to suggest either is gone (more probable - stronger VC)

  9. #8
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    TwoYears, welcome to the Swarm! (Y)

    It is nice that You're trying to be helpful, but what Rep did You contact? Unless You asked a GW Studio person (say, Pete Haines or Phil Kelly), the "Rep's" opinion isn't exactly official and is worth as much as ours... MO Trolls in particular are notorious for not knowing their stuff.


    It's not an issue whether You can take both, but whether You can shoot both. Currently, You technically can shoot both.

    I for one believe that the WBlast will be streamlined according to the most current Psychic Rules, and thus WB will in all probability count as an "Instead of shooting (at all)" power and thus not being able to shoot both a ranged bioweapon and the WB in the same turn.

    We shall see.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Uzi-99
    TwoYears, welcome to the Swarm! (Y)

    It is nice that You're trying to be helpful, but what Rep did You contact? Unless You asked a GW Studio person (say, Pete Haines or Phil Kelly), the "Rep's" opinion isn't exactly official and is worth as much as ours... MO Trolls in particular are notorious for not knowing their stuff.
    .
    hello Uzi.
    It is good the meet fellow swarms.
    As far as I know, the rep's represent the official view on matters of rules, thus more or less equal to chapter-approved (which is also by the way - not codex staff).

    the answer they sent me on this matter:

    Hi there
    As described in the Tyranid codex on page 9 under the HIVE MIND POWERS section; The creatures can attack in the shooting phase using a focused blast of warp energy INSTEAD of a ranged Bio weapon.
    So if the Monsterous creature has a barbed strangler and a venom cannon it can shoot one, and then use the warp blast instead of the other or just wire both bio weapons instead.
    I hope that this proves to be of help to you.
    Cheers, hear from you soon,
    Paul Scott Games Workshop Hobby Specialist

    Quote Originally Posted by Uzi-99
    I for one believe that the WBlast will be streamlined according to the most current Psychic Rules, and thus WB will in all probability count as an "Instead of shooting (at all)" power and thus not being able to shoot both a ranged bioweapon and the WB in the same turn.
    I do not agree with you. monsterous creatures are able to shoot 2 weapons at once. it stands to reason a tyrant can WB and shoot another bio-weapon, instead of shooting 2 weapons.

    Quote Originally Posted by Uzi-99
    It's not an issue whether You can take both, but whether You can shoot both. Currently, You technically can shoot both.
    Uzi, please...



    WE ARE LEGION

  11. #10
    Son of LO Uzi-99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helsinki, Finland
    Age
    37
    Posts
    3,181
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by TwoYears
    Quote Originally Posted by Uzi-99
    I for one believe that the WBlast will be streamlined according to the most current Psychic Rules, and thus WB will in all probability count as an "Instead of shooting (at all)" power and thus not being able to shoot both a ranged bioweapon and the WB in the same turn.
    I do not agree with you. monsterous creatures are able to shoot 2 weapons at once. it stands to reason a tyrant can WB and shoot another bio-weapon, instead of shooting 2 weapons.
    --- Yes... Currently. This we clearly agree on... And the specialist who answered You does the same.

    But will Warp Blast rules remain the the way they are now?

    This is what I was pointing at... I personally believe that GW will streamline WB rules, and thus become an "instead-of-shooting" power in the next edition of the Codex. We shall see.

    As far as I know, the rep's represent the official view on matters of rules, thus more or less equal to chapter-approved (which is also by the way - not codex staff).
    --- You have much to learn... :lol:

    They're not official, and not nearly CA! In fact, I've caught reps claiming rules which had already been officially clarified in a FAQ for 6 months... In fact, all rep/MO-troll replies I've got include a disclaimer which specifically states that it is simply the opinion of the answerer and not GW in general.

    What's the point then? Well, they exist to solve quick disputes... It's much easier to just call and check up on them than to post something on forums and wait for people to respond and reach a compromise on particularly confusing issues. This'll clear the dispute quick, allowing a game to continue.

    However, to get the best, most thorough interpretation and solve the matter once and for all, applying for help on forums such as LO is the best way. You'll get multiple views, discussion, and a general consensus on how something ought to be played, instead of someone working on a hourly wage spending a couple of minutes to give You their opinion on the matter.


    Chapter Approved is made (or at the very least, checked) by the game designers themselves, since it is an overall clarification/change of rules/alternative rules to be used in every game and which overrules the Codex and rulebook if need be.
    Last edited by Uzi-99; April 8th, 2005 at 00:30.
    "The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts