Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, I recently pitted my Sisters of Battle against an Eldar opponent.
He deployed his squads in such a way that his Avatar was within 2" coherency of two 8-man guardian squads, and declared that I therefore had to kill all 16 members of the two squads before I could wound his Avatar.
Now to me, this means he is effectively saying IC can join two units at a time. This doesn't seem to make sense to me, though I can't find it in the rulebook.
Can anyone clarify this for me? I wondered if maybe there was some special rule about the Avatar I didn't know about...
This is double-illegal, the Avatar is a monstrous creature and can always be shot at. And also any IC can't join more than one squad at a time.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
I'm not a big one on the rules but I thought the normal thing for an IC was that if they were within X inches of a unit they couldn't be shot at. They didn't actually have to join the unit to gain that defense. So that part seems to be legal.
I have no clue about the monsterous creatures always being able to be shot at, I thought he counted as a Daemon, are they always monsterous creatures. (Though, I would think he could be shot, if only because of his size.)
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
The rules used to be no targeting IC within 6" of a unit. However this was changed in 4th edition so that IC can only be targeted if they are the closest model. So if the IC was out front, he can be targeted. Not that this makes any difference to the Avatar, seeing as he is a monstrous creature you can always pick him out.
Last edited by Addoran; April 20th, 2005 at 22:24.
Demons are demons, some are MC's others aren't.. Its a completely different classification
In 3rd edition it was 6" from any unit or if you were within 12" you could shoot it. The Avatar was immune to being targetted in 3rd edition except in the 2 circumstances mentioned above, he no longer is due to the MC rule change
As others have said IC's can only join 1 squad.. About the only benefit the avatar gets now is being able to roll 3d6 for difficult terrain and he gets to reroll them
Thanks for your help. I think it has been a while since my opponent played. He would have been most activ as a player before 4th Edition came out. He was talking about 6" and I didn;t really get that either... As a newb I had to live with it... It was a close battle anyway and I made mistakes which I've learnt from. I'm looking forward to another match with him.
and then you can kick him