Question on Phase Out rule - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Question on Phase Out rule

    A situation came up in a game a friend player against a necron and we are still not sure of the rules on this.

    We played a low points value 400pts game. The necron player took a squad of Warrior and a troop of Flayed Ones he kept in reserve to deep strike.

    His warrior squad was reduced to 25% after his We'll Be Back rolls and his Flayed Ones were still in reserve due to crappy reserve rolls, but they entered right after on that turn.

    1. Do units in reserve count against the 25% of units needed before a phase out?
    2. If they don't would he have phased out since the reserves enter after the We'll Be Back rolls and the Phase out says it is calculated after these rolls?

    Thanks.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    i think he would have phased out since the first thing you do your (necron) turn is roll for wbb it is before moving/reserves roll so if he didnt have 25% of his army after the wbb role he would have phased out.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    Units in reserves do count towards the pahse out limit. So, if between what you have on the board and what you have in reserve you still have 25%, then you wouldnt phase out.
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  5. #4
    Senior Member Arandmoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaosbrynn
    Units in reserves do count towards the pahse out limit. So, if between what you have on the board and what you have in reserve you still have 25%, then you wouldnt phase out.
    Mostly right. The only exception to this is when you have warriors in reserve and your monolith gets destroyed. Then the warriors count as destroyed because they cannot come onto the table.

    Small detail...but important.
    Wake. Rise. Destroy. Conquer.
    We have done so once. We will do so again.

  6. #5
    heretical thoughts? ShadowZora13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    231 (x4)

    haha, whole dicussion on that a while ago... Some one thought that if you put necrons in reserves, but didn't hhave a monolith, then they wouldn't be destroyed. so that way you could cancel out phaze out...


    "...lest we perish without ever recognizing our peril"
    -Inquisitor Hoth

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowZora13
    haha, whole dicussion on that a while ago... Some one thought that if you put necrons in reserves, but didn't hhave a monolith, then they wouldn't be destroyed. so that way you could cancel out phaze out...
    Yes, that was I.

    And it is indeed true. No where does it state that if you dont have a monolith that your reserves are destroyed. A monolith must be destroyed for the reserves to die as per the 4th ed FAQ.

    However, thats not the point of this thread. If you would like to join the scores of others who have argued it, and been converted, i suggest you look for the thread.

    It is definatelly rules lawering, but legal.
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

  8. #7
    Senior Member Arandmoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    354
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaosbrynn
    Yes, that was I.

    And it is indeed true. No where does it state that if you dont have a monolith that your reserves are destroyed. A monolith must be destroyed for the reserves to die as per the 4th ed FAQ.

    However, thats not the point of this thread. If you would like to join the scores of others who have argued it, and been converted, i suggest you look for the thread.

    It is definatelly rules lawering, but legal.
    Sure. Lemme try my hand at it.

    (Necron faq_v4-0.pdf)
    "Necron Warriors in Reserve only require a Monolith to enter when they use their special reserves rule. If they are using this rule and all availiable Monoliths are destroyed they count as destroyed and may therefore trigger the phase out of the on-table portion of the army."

    Last paragraph, first page. Sorry.

    OTOH...if you go to the UK website and download the Necron Eratta it adds the words "unaugmented strength" to the living metal rule description which means Powerfists, dreadnought CCWs, and wraithlords can't kill the lith so it evens out IMO.
    Wake. Rise. Destroy. Conquer.
    We have done so once. We will do so again.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    his argument is that since there is no monolith(s) to begin with it says "all available monolith(s)" since there is no monolith(s) to begin with it doesnt affect them or something along the line of that.

  10. #9
    heretical thoughts? ShadowZora13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    948
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    231 (x4)

    Read the topic that we reffered to, and post there. You point has been made pleanty of time there.

    but, if you must insist on kepping it up here, basically, there weren't any monoliths to be destroyed in the first place, so therefor, none were destroyed, and the warriors in reserve aren't destroyed.

    And what does that part with the unagumented strength have to do with anything?

    And hasn't the question already been answered? So either all posts from now on are offtopic or redudant.


    "...lest we perish without ever recognizing our peril"
    -Inquisitor Hoth

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts