Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was reading the rules for the monolith again, including the faq, and I was wondering if power fists do not work on the monolith. The faq says to use un modded strength and 1d6 ap ever, but does this include the power fist?
Now two, totally unrelated questions I'm throwing in here.... If a unit with all 3+ saves, but one guy has a 5+ inv, gets hit by a ap2 ord blast, can you elect him to make all the saves, or make saves till he dies, then start getting rid of others, or what?
And, if a tank deep strikes, does it count as moving, and if so, how far?
Thanks for your help with these questions of mine.
The powerfist question is going to get you two answers.Originally Posted by ShadowZora13
IMO, powerfists do NOT double strength against the monolith. The Eratta states "unmodified strength" so that means a marine with a powerfist rolls 1d6 and adds 4.
The Mixed Armor rules are in the BBB. Page 76.
Deepstrike rules are on page 84. Check the last paragraph.
Wake. Rise. Destroy. Conquer.
We have done so once. We will do so again.
According to the newest reprint of the necron codex, the powerfist would use the simple d6 + S, not augmented to 2*S. You will hear a lot of whining and people denounce this, but reading the rules means playing by them.
That is freaking nonsense. How in the heck could the monolith possibly disable power fists and the like? That means that Marines are only s4, Dreadnaughts are only s5, which makes the Monolith invincible to melee combat, which is nonsense. The entire Necron Codex is an exercise in cheese, trying to figure out how far they can push the rest of us. As a Biel-Tan player, I know cheese when I see it, and this, my friends, is limberger.
No 2d6 for Melta weapons, I can see. The Monolith, being a living machine, can move some of its ablative plating to the area that needs it and stop the melting effect. The power fist, though...it's a question of internal effects vs. external effects. The way I understood it, the doubled strength of the wearer was added by the force of the Fist itself, not by added power of weight or energy field on the person or vehicle being struck. So that's nonsense. Power fists, in all their incarnations, be they Marine or Imp Guard, Dreadnought CCW, Scorpion's Claw, etc. cannot be negated. And if anyone else has something to say...I'll just send an email to the GW team.
You're not supposed to kill the monolith in CC, unless you are eldar or DE or 'nids (haywire grenades and natural S10). Since you are eldar, just immobalize the monolith and watch haywire grenades do their thing. Or hit it with wraithcannons, or singing spears.Originally Posted by Endymion_Mallorn
The only people who call necrons cheese, are those that aren't good enough to figure out strategies to beat them. I play biel-tan as well, and I've only lost three times to necrons. I've played them alot. Yes the monolith is hard to kill, but the falcon is significantly harder. They're not cheesy, they're just easy to use.
Yes your logic is good, but alot of things in WH, don't make sense. It's a pretty good system, but not perfect.
If you're so jealous of necrons why not play them?
You have just recieved the Amish Computer Virus. Since the Amish don't have computers, it is based on the honor system. So please delete all the files from your computer. Thank you for you cooperation.
Votewar 40k Mk1- 2nd Place
Votewar FB 1- 1st Place
Votewar 40k Mk5- 1st Place
Okay, slow down a sec here slugger. Just to clear the air here, yes, the Monolith does do all these things make no mistake of it,and with good reason. If you want to talk game wise, then you should actually read up on the necron codex before passing judgement, because anyone who gives that codex even half a glance(unless blind) would clearly see the defficiancy in unit choices at work here. And, given what a challenge it is to construct a decent "all around good" army with such little option, I belive it more than justifies the abilities granted to our ONLY vehicle.(not to mention points cost) And Fluff wise, its no diffirent situation. If you read the codex you'll quickly understand that the Necrons solely, are the most technologically advanced Army in the game, Hence the living metal wich can flow and conform back into shape even when hit by something like, oh...say a power fist.(wich, by the way, does add strength with an enrgy field, slowly charged hence the striking last) So, FYI, the Necrons(given the circumstances) are far from cheated, and by the way, next time do yourself a favor and don't come into a Necron Forum complaining about the "Rest of us". Thanks in advanceOriginally Posted by Endymion_Mallorn
" Are you gonna bark all day little doggy,
or are you gonna bite? "
yes, basically you don't try to kill the monolith in cc. it's a skimmer, so you can only hit it on a 6 anyway, regardless of WS. neither do you attempt to kill it with anti-tank weapons (resistant). repeated lascannons, railguns, or TMCs being thrown at it are what generally causes it to die.Originally Posted by Endymion_Mallorn
In fact, the best tactic against a monolith is the 'put your fingers in your ears and go laalalaalalaa. ignore it, force it to phase out with the rest of the army.
What kind of weapons does the thing have and if is on the field can you really icnor it?
Yes you can ignor it. To ignor something, never fire at it, or charge it in cc. Its a huge amount of points that are making it easier to phaze the necrons out. For weapons, it has a gun that can shoot at all units within range, d6 times, or a nice fat ord.