Wych Weapons and halving WS. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Virginia
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Wych Weapons and halving WS.

    There was a question brought up about when the WS of an opponent is affected when in CC with a Wych squad. Since a conclusion could not be reached by those involved I posed the question to the UK DEV team. The response below is going to blow your mind so before you read it, get your CODEX out and print the DE FAQ. Grab a beer (better make it 2) and clear your head.


    The question I posed to the DEV team.
    #2. The DE CODEX page 9 states an enemies WS is halved for attacks made against Wyches. The FAQ states that if an enemy unit is locked in combat with a Wych unit and another unit WS is only affected when attacking and being attacked by the Wyches. So is WS affected both ways so the Wych squad when attacking also gets the modifier or only one way.

    As you can see the FAQ states WS is halved both ways, but only when multiple DE units are involved. The CODEX only states that WS is halved by the enemy unit when attacking not when being attacked.

    The official answer I received from the Dev team;
    The FAQ is official, and represents the latest ruling form the Design Studio. If something is stated in the FAQ, it is entirely reasonable for you to insist on that rule being followed to the letter, and as such, the synopsis you provided in your last email would be entirely correct. This does not mean that you have to - in the event that you and your opponent are unsatisfied with the rule, you may decide, for example, to roll a dice to decide whether the FAQ ruling or the ruling on Page 9 of Codex: Dark Eldar prevails, or even just to come to an amicable agreement to ignore the ruling if you choose.

    My personal view would be to allow my opponents to use the FAQ ruling if they chose to. However strange it may seem that Wych Elves can use this exceptional circumstance to their advantage only when involved in combats with multiple units, it is an official ruling and thus entirely legitimate in terms of the rules. It may be the case that this issue is addressed in the next Dark Eldar rules release, but until then, you will be within your rights to insist on this rule being used in your games.

    Best regards,
    Rob Macfarlane
    Games Workshop Hobby Specialist

    Looking for a compliment here is like looking for a girlfriend in a cemetary. You know you probably won't like what you dig up, but you'll take it anyway.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Maleficarum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Commorragh
    Age
    36
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    This does not mean that you have to - in the event that you and your opponent are unsatisfied with the rule, you may decide, for example, to roll a dice to decide whether the FAQ ruling or the ruling on Page 9 of Codex: Dark Eldar prevails, or even just to come to an amicable agreement to ignore the ruling if you choose.
    Even the "hobby specialist" finds absurd the rule.
    Using common sense I use the WS halving effect for the wyches when they attack or are being attacked.
    When there is more than 1 unit the WS halving only affect to the attacks concerning the wyches not the another DE unit.
    I hope to have explained myself well, my english is not so good

    Cheers

  4. #3
    LO Zealot MobiusPrime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ohio
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,503
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

    FOR THE LOVE OF MIKE, Why can't people understand the damn rules for wyche weapons!?

    Wyche weapons halve enemy weapon skills when the Wyche attacks and when the enemy attacks a Wyche. That's it!

    In the event of a multiple combat (let's say Wyches, DE Warriors vs marines), the enemy weapon skill is only halved when the Wyches attack and when the marines attack the Wyches. The Warriors would hit against unmodified enemy WS, and the marines would not modify their WS when they try to hit the Warriors.

    It in not just in the circumstance of a multiple combat where the Wyche Weapons work both ways. They always do, but only for attacks from a Wyche or to a Wyche.

    The FAQ is poorly written to say just what I said in the previous paragraph. Whoever wrote that FAQ needs to be castrated.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Wyche weapons halve enemy weapon skills when the Wyche attacks and when the enemy attacks a Wyche. That's it!
    No, they "affect" the weapon skill only if these conditions are fulfilled...

    *sigh*

    Not again...

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    alright might be a dumb question but lets say a unit has WS 3 fight wyches would that make them after the modifier WS 1 or WS 2??

  7. #6
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    WS2, as you round up. But only for their attacks against the wyches.

  8. #7
    A very violent persona Apotheosis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    City of Angels
    Posts
    1,875
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x4)

    Jen, I still fail to see your logic. (so will you please forgive me this one instance)

    Peace,

    Infraz.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    In my opinion the FAQ does not state what wych weapons do, but when you can use them. In this regard it rather resembles the strength 6 limitation than anything else.

    If the condition that the wyches attack the enemy and that enemy attacks the wyches is fulfilled, then the normal effect of wych weapons takes place: The enemy WS is halved for his attacks against the wyches.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts