Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
where does it say the wrathlord is a Monstrous creature. i know it is huge but nowhere in the rules can i find that it is actually a MC.
When you combine Speed and Power you get Lightning.
You can find it in the main rule book on page 264.
Ditto. The Wraithlord is also a 'special' MC- its attacks don't follow 'normal MC' (ha!) rules.
A man's at odds to know his mind, for his mind is aught he has to know it with.
Yup, because of the fact it uses a strength enhancing weapon it loses the MC armour penetration rules
Course on the upside it means you cant get vortex of doomed by a librarian......
Str enhancing weapon? What are you referring to? If its the attacks it gets the normal Str 10 attacks. Is there an actual rule that it does not get armor penetration?
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
ahh but if you look at the description of the WL in the codex you will see that it is not Str 10. it is a weapon effect that brings it up that high.
as the second dice pen for monstrous creatures, you only get that if your Str is unmodified, a WL is not.
did you think that a WL could punch with the same Str as a Railgun without a modifier? that would be insainly strong! If the eldar could do that they could probably make it so their guys didnâ€™t die so much.
P.S. this means that a WL will only get on average 2 damging hits when he charges a still LR insted of 3.5, as cool as it would be the 3.5 would be overkill. A WL is still VERY effective vs tanks
Last edited by Deep_inferno; May 27th, 2005 at 20:59.
'Lords are tough but hardly sick, if they had MC penetration it would be a problem, but as it is they aren't excessive. A few krak missiles or powerfists and they soon disappear. With the recent clarification along with this ruling means that wraithlord are incapable of damaging monoliths, as their unmodified strength is too low. Thats the only difference though as they cant have weapond destroyed as it's a MC not a dread, heh-heh.
Big Question, can the lord turn off its fists, choose not to use them like a regular powerfist wielder and get MC bonus?
A lord is almost impossible to get rid of: T8 W3 and save 3+ makes it very hard to kill before it is inside cc range, it can move and fire up to two heavy weapons and it is cheap.
IMO a lord is about the most cheese unit in the game.
they are not almost impossible to get rid of. especially since they move so slowly. you'll only ever not have enough time to shoot it down if you move towards it.
firstly. unless you're necrons you'll always have enough power to deal with it. its 3+ save is usually useless against whatever heavy ordnance you choose to throw at it. really anything that strong in cc will also be a power weapon and ranged weaponswill most likely have a low enough Ap. eg missile launchers and lascannons will make a mess of it.
secondly. though it can fire 2 heavy weapons a turn there's no option to put 2 heavy weapons on. you can only ever get one on a wraithlord.
thirdly if you haven't shot it down before it gets into cc, or can deal with it in cc then you're probably doing something wrong.
now more than one wraithlord i have to say is cheesy. anyone fielding more than 1 in 1000pts (ish) deserves to be shot.
edit. i don't think that the wraithlord can turn off its power fists as it has 2 of them, so it can't opt to use its other cc weapon, unlike i'd imagine a DP with a strength enhancing weapon that can use its other cc weapon to get the bonus penetration... (i think)
Last edited by TzarNikolai; May 31st, 2005 at 14:54.