Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does a Tyrant's Horror power come in to effect only if a unit want to charge him initiating an assault, or are subsequence turns of continued melee still considered "assault" and they must check leadership each time?
Also, the ability of Catalyst goes off in the assault phase, can a zoathrope with catalyst and warp field blast away in the shooting phase, and then catalyst the following assault phase?
I believe the codex says that any models who declared charges agaisnt the tyrant has to take a leadership check. So no, once your in CC, you don't have to take any more Horror checks.Originally Posted by TordenI'd say yes since Nid powers are different from other powers.Also, the ability of Catalyst goes off in the assault phase, can a zoathrope with catalyst and warp field blast away in the shooting phase, and then catalyst the following assault phase?
Dreams give us a vision of a world unlike any we have seen. They present us with a glimpse of a better life; a goal to aspire to, and in the face of insurmountable odds, they provide us with the power to overcome, to live on, and to succeed where we would have otherwise failed.
unfortunately the power says "any enemy unit that wishes to assault..." so you can see my confusion.Originally Posted by dymew
I have a further question: If the Tyrant has Guard still alive, does The Horror still work? Does the opponent have to intend on coming into contact with the Tyrant specifically? The rule seems to imply that by only assaulting the Guard, one can avoid having to make the Leadership test.
"Assault" refers to charging into close combat at the start of the Assault phase. If the model is already engaged in close combat, it can no longer "assault". It simply fights.Originally Posted by Torden
Originally Posted by Ostsol
Well is ASSAULT = CHARGE, you have to specific the unit you wish to charge not just models. At this point you would roll the test for Horror. At this point, provided you pass, you may then position so that only guards are in b2b contact.
My answer would be yes, a test still has to be rolled.
A good combination (although not that powerful) is having 3 Zoanthropes in front of something you don't want to be assaulted (slow carnifex with Initiative 1/2 against some fast Eldar thing?). Give one of the Zoanthropes The Horror and give all of them Phsycic Scream. Eldar's Ld 8 will turn into a gauntish Ld 5 - they'll run for sure.
If your really insane, get the Hive Tyrant and a sqaud of Gargs/Raveners. This trick is kinda mean, but great for us. Get the Hive Tyrant behind 3 Zoanthropes. Give the Hive Tyrant Phsycic Scream, and give the Zoanthropes The Horror and Phsycic Scream. Now, have preferably a squad of 8 to 12 gargoyles or 3 to 6 raveners behind the Hive Tyrant. Take this little mob near an enemy cc unit (chaos berzerkers etc.). Now stop infront of them and fire with everything you have (HT's VC and Garg's Fleshborers/Raveners Devourers.) Eventually, they'll either die by the large firepower, or decide to charge. That's where you get them! They're good in assault - better than Zoanthropes. The Hive Tyrant is there, but hopefully a small army of cc units can take him down? WRONG!!!
When they charge, they take a Ld test. THey'll attack the Zoanthropes, because they're closest and block LoS to anyone else. Now, your plan comes into power. If they're Ld 8 (Eldar Howling Banshees, I guess), They get downed 4! Now, they're Ld is a mere 4- less than a gaunts - and when they take that test, they're gonna run for sure. They need two 2's or less, and that's not likely at all. When they run, the gargoyles/raveners get their time to shine. THe hunters now hunt the previous hunters (???). The gargoyles fly 12" forwards, over the Hive Tyrant, FoW a bit further and then charge the pack of fleeing Howling Banshees. They're dead. Even if the cc unit got 12", the 12" move followed by 1" FoW and the 6" charge is enough to assure death!!! HHHEHEHEHE!
"If a ninja does anything anywhere it won't make a sound, but if it does it's probably gonna be the last sound you hear."
Only those units that make it into base-to-base with the Tyrant itself are effected by The Horror (which is why my Tyrant Guard generally trail my Tyrant. The shortest path to a squad then becomes a straight line into the Hive Tyrant, with the Guards in back providing lash whip -attack support (basically negating the benefit of the charge in the first place ))Originally Posted by Ostsol
Also: A model may only use one psychic power that requires a psychic test per turn, so while you can use Warp Blast and Catalyst, you cannot use the focused version of Warp Blast and Catalyst on the same turn. (In the same way, a Librarian can't use a psychic power and a force weapon on the same turn).