Welcome to Librarium Online!
Should by any chance a Shas'o join a unit of Stealthsuits, would the unit still benefit from the stealthsuit rules, or is there some small subscript somewhere that denies anyone from joining stealthsuits?
Also, does a markerlight pick out a single target MODEL or target (I dont have the codex (nor the local hobbystore) and a friend of mine insists he can use it to snipe characters in units).
And finally, if your Crisis Suits are equiped with Plasma Rifles, and rapid fire 6" away from the enemy, are they able to charge because the jet packs allow them to move 6" in assault, are they still entitled to the 6" move but can't charge, or can they never do their second move after firing a rapid fire weapon?
Okay, well, I'll do my best to answer some of these...I don't have my codex on me and I haven't looked at it in a while, but I think I know 'em. Fellow Tau players, please correct me if I'm wrong!Originally Posted by Aristone
1) The unit would no longer benefit from the rules. Only when Drones are accompanying the Shas'vre person in the unit do other models that are not in Stealth Suits benefit. So, to answer the question, they lose the special ability if an IC joins them.
2) The markerlight "lights" up a TARGET. Meaning a UNIT in your case. He can NOT snipe single characters. Meaning, he's cheating you!
3) Hmm. I think they still are allowed to charge. They CAN do their second move after firing ANY of their weapons, however I don't see why any Crisis Suits would really want to charge after that. But, as far as I can tell, they are allowed to charge. I think. Unless, of course, the rules for Rapid Fire weapons apply here, where NOBODY who has shot a rapid fire weapon may then charge into close combat. So no? Hmm.
My suggestion to you - ask your friend to see his codex. Borrow it for the night, and read up on it. If he's so positive he isn't cheating, then simply ask him to point out the specific passage that supports HIM. Then ask him if you may look through it. If he denies you, stop playing against him. ALL sportsmanlike players should give the opponent a chance to see their codex!
The crisis suit can definatly still move after rapid firing (same rules are the Warp Spiders apply here) but I don't think they can charge...unless there is so strange recoil absorbtion rule I'm forgetting about.
As I assumedOriginally Posted by Lost NemesisTried that, he refuses to let me even look at it (even though its the only one at the hobbyshop we play at) because hes written battleplans through it (I've seen plenty black scribbles on the borders of pages as he has flipped through it, and I don't believe they're part of the book). I know someone else with the the codex though, I'll just ahve to borrow that one to question him.Originally Posted by Lost NemesisI don't believe there is anything in the FAQ about this, and I haven't read any part of the recoil absorbtion rule that deals with it, but thats the way we've been playing it. A move but not a charge.Originally Posted by QwertyMIDX
Does the price of failure affect units that are inside of Devilfish's? Or is it really worth it to take that Aun (which you all know you want) in a Mech Tau army?
you can't cause a panic to a unit inside a transport if I am correct, it need to be out on the tabletop.
As for the charge move, they can charge, as they always count as stationnary with rapidfire weapons, in the same manner as terminators or bikes.
If he won't show you buy one, but I don't think it would be necessary to do so, just ask him to proove is point, althought he as misread a few things...
Aun'shi might be worth takin as he brings a fearless unit with 2 attacks each that counts as scoring even under half, but not for the shear CC power, remember is T3.....
But remember, if he has a retinue of firewarriors, he loses his IC-ness and is the rending (4+ inv) "hidden honour blade" part of a unit. No picking out non-IC. Also, he chooses one of your FireWarrior squads to join (if I remember correctly) which means that he fits well in a Mech-Tau army as you can stick him in a squad in a Devilfish.Originally Posted by Wolf_Pack
In the rulebook, in the uniques unit types section, there is a page called "Jump Infantry." I don't have it with me now, but I do believe the page says that jump infantry that fire rapid-fire weapons may still assault. Er, maybe it was only "jet infantry" and not all "jump infantry."
"I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.
*Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*