Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So I've never attached a dlord to a group of scarabs but I see that posted on a number of threads.
The lord isn't fearless, the scarabs are. The lord attaches to the squad...do the little mechanical buggers now get scared or does the lord grow an extra large pair? (My other army is nids...morale/characters is a section of the rules I am not very familiar with LOL).
I'm assuming the unit now has to make morale/pinning/etc tests. The rules seem to suggest this based on the infiltrate example. That the lord is in charge and the buggers do what he says and hide.
If so I'm questioning if this is such a great idea joining the lord to the scarabs. I mean sure they won't fail due to 25% loss very often but against Tau or other pinners your lord/scarab group could stand around all game. Also the low WS they could lose in CC as well on a few bad lord rolls and you could be hosed.
Has anyone had problems with this or am I shooting at straws?
"I have plenty of talent and vision; I just don't give a f..."
I think your right, Scarabs loose their fearless status. However, they are still an Ld 10 unit so you wouldn't have to worry about them failing too often. They are usually taken to provide the DLord with more wounds for both damage and outnumbering purposes. And since they can turboboost, you can get to CC and avoid weapons fire fairly quickly. I prefer Scarabs to Wraiths with my DLord simply due to the number of models. Their low WS is risky, but the sheer number of attacks they bring usually evens this out.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
The Lord will become fearless. Check the 4th edition rule book in the Special Abilities section. It indicates (in fine print under the title) that only some abilities are lost by a unit when joined by an IC without the ability (like Infiltrate), but Fearless is not one of them. Therefore, when a lord joins the scarab unit he also becomes fearless as well. The same holds true when he joins a unit of Pariahs.
Originally Posted by LordCreampuff
That's correct. If the unit has fearlessness, any ICs that join will also get fearless. However, if an IC has fearless and he joins a unit that does not, the IC will lose Fearless.