Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I have a few questions regarding the number of attacks of some Necron units.
Their profile identifies 2 attacks and their weapons are identified as claws. I take claws to mean two of them (notice the plural form of claw), therefore they are always armed with two close combat weapons. This allows them to always get the extra attack for two close combat weapons. I have had numerous arguments about this. People constantly argue that their profile already includes the extra attack becasuse it is already 2. I ask them then how does a character with a bolt pistol and chainsword as wargear get an extra attack when they already have multiple attacks listed also?
Do Flayed Ones get an extra attack for multiple weapons and why or why not?
Their profile identifies their weapons as claws and barbed tail.
Do Wraiths get an extra attack for multiple weapons?
The C'Tan entry clearly states that they can shape themselves into different close combat weapons so their attacks ignore invulnerable saves. Again, as with the above example, it is stated in the plural form indicating they can create multiple weapons.
Do C'Tan get an extra attack for creating multiple weapons?
No, because they aren't using 2 close combat weapons they are using their arms. The cannot remove their arms therefore the attacks are included within their basic profile.Originally Posted by LordCreampuffNo. Same reason as flayed ones, the number of attacks is included in the profile.Originally Posted by LordCreampuffNo.Originally Posted by LordCreampuff
That's right; "no" to answer all of them. While it may be clear that these models have multiple weapons, those weapons' in-game effects are never defined. They aren't described as close-combat weapons or as single-handed weapons, so they don't have the effects of those weapons. So . . . no bonus attacks.
thank you and good night
Well done Creampuff, that is one of the first questions i asked when i joined, and i agree that they should count as extra weapons. however, it appears that the forces of damn GW and their 'rules' are arrayed against us.
Whether my earlier thread is dead or not, after ages of me vs. everyone else about getting extra attacks for wraiths (didnt really think about FO's or c'tan- i think that they would get a bit cheesy if they had 3 attacks for the same price as a warrior, and c'tan already have gazillions of attacks...), because it states them having 2 close combat weapons (i.e. weapons that are used in close combat), and the rules state that anything with two CCW's has one more attack than stated in its base statline.
however, i have already stated my opinion on this matter, and have been jumped on repeatedly by the rest of the peoiple on this forum, so i'll shut up now.
it says no such thing about close combat weapons for Wraiths. They have 3 attacks on their profile and their weapons are stated as claws and barbed tail. No mention is made of them having or using close combat weapons.Originally Posted by Tunisia
as i have said, i have already fought for my case and lost, i was merely explaining my views that had already been established in another thread.
my reasoning was that a close combat weapon was a weapon used in close combat. you cannot shoot with claws or a barbed tail, and they are listed as weapons. therefore, being weapons they use in close combat, they must be close combat weapons.
under weapons, wraiths are listed as having: 1)claws and 2)barbed tail.
therefore, they have 2 close combat weapons, and should, in my eyes, qualify for an extra attack.
however, i asked in GW, and have been shouted at on my own thread, so i accept that my view isnt the most commonly held one.
it makes sense in my eyes, but GW isnt about sensibility and logic, so they do not get an extra attack.
i think that that finishes this thread.
Surely the third attack is from the tail? Which isn't an option and therefore the attack included in the profile.
Last edited by Corianis; July 17th, 2005 at 14:34.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
There are plenty of other creatures that don't get the attacks for this reason. DE warpbeasts, Chaos hounds(I believe), and basic DE warriors have blades all over their guns and body (one would assume that you could use all those CCW's attached to you for their real purpose).
Why would their weapons not have already been taken into account though? Flayed ones get 2 (2 claws), Wraiths get 3 (3 things to attack with), and C'Tan get enough attacks.
Just a few examples of this working similar in other situations:
A basic Spinegaunt(cheapest Tyranid unit) only gets one attack, but it could slam the person with its gun like most other units, it could also bite, and claw with its back feet.
Swarms, of all sorts, are armed with "razor-sharp teeth and claws" and/or "whatever the hell it is that Necron swarms are armed with but the swarm pieces have like 6 legs each and probably electronic stingers and biters", and this does not add an extra attack beside the average 3 listed, because that 3 comes from all those attacks.
Examples of when this works the other way:
S. Scorpions are armed with such-and-such(don't want to break copy-right). The things that they are armed with all either have rules in the wargear section or are noted as being CCWs.
Not trying to be sarcastic or anything, but they tell you they are attacking with their claws because EVERY unit in the game has a description of its attacks. Either GW thinks that you will feel its cooler to hear the neat things they are attacking with, or they are afraid your friends will argue with you and question how they could be getting that number of attacks (which has already been covered).
I didn't read the other thread else I would've replied there.
I've never met anyone else that has the same opinion as you on this .. and i've been playing wargames off and on for 20 years.
Personally I don't agree with the extra attack for additional CC weapons anyway. I think they should at least have a -1 to hit modifier on them, because of the difficulty in using 2 weapons together, but that discusiion is really for another topic and isn't one that I can be bothered to argue anyway.