Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was wondering, what happens if a hive tyrant with guard is getting shot at, and the guard are behind with only the tyrant in range, or in line of sight if the guard are in cover or behind the tyrant, is it only the tyrant that gets affected, or does the guard special rule allow them to 'jump' in the way?
And also, in a combat, can a model target the tyrant, or not because of the guards 'shieldwall' special rule?
Any help is greatly appreciated
Only models within line of sight of the shooter can have wounds applied to them. If the Tyrant is the only model that meets those requirements, then it is the only model that can have wounds applied to.
Really, Tyrant Guard are nothing special in terms of rules. They simply treat a Tyrant as a normal model with regard to being the target of shooting. That is, the Tyrant cannot be picked off simply because it is a Monstrous Creature (as is normally the case with Monstrous Characters). Think of a brood of Tyrant and Guard as a normal squad with a [non-Independent] Character. However, I suppose that the shooting squad would not have to take a Target Priority test when wanting to shoot at a Tyrant brood. It still contains a Monstrous Creature, after all.
Thanks, but now I have another query.
You know how you have to take wounds on already wounded models, if a tyrant was the only viable target in the previous turn and lost a wound, wouldn't he have to keep losing wounds until he's dead? Because you have to take away whole models, not wound a few models in a squad. The guard 'shieldwall' rule seems to override this, but I am still not too sure. It was the same in 3rd edition too, it got quite confusing.
His big benefit is that with multiple Guard he will be the minority and also the weaker so the guard will have to take damage first unless they are not eligible targets due to LOS or range. Just remember to get at least 2 and keep one in front and one in back of him.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!
Yes and no. If, in your above example, the Tyrant was the only viable target and took a wound, she would not necessarily take wounds in subsequent turns. You must remove whole models where possible . If, on subsequent turns, the whole unit are viable targets, it may not be possible to assign more wounds to the Tyrant becuase Majority Armor would come into effect. Hits would be assigned to the Guard first (if the Tyrant had the Ex Car upgrade). In that case, the Tyrant wouldn't take the wounds if there weren't enough hits to reach her. Wounds would go to the Guard, giving you a unit with multi wound creatures that had wounds spread out amongst them.Originally Posted by broken_spoons
Not even using your example, this can happen with any unit of multiwound creatures that have differing armor values. Tomb Spyders and Scarabs spring to mind. One turn could have the Scarabs failing saves, the next could have them making all of them and the Spyder failing saves. There you would have wounds spread out over multiple models, and it's completely legal due to Majority Armor.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
Quite right. This is also true when the Majority Armour rule is not in effect. Hits/Wounds come in 'sets' so if there are enough wounds in one set to cause a casualty you must do so. One set is counted as all shooting from one unit, or all close combat attacks against your unit in one initiative step.Originally Posted by Gojiratoho
E.G. #1 - If an enemy unit shoots at your Tyrant and Guard but only causes 1 unsaved wound, you can apply that wound to either the Tyrant or Guard so long as they are in range and line of sight.
E.G. #2 - If their shooting causes 3 unsaved wounds then there are enough wounds in that set to kill either one of the Guard or the Tyrant (assuming she's taken a wound previously). In this case you are not allowed to assign 1 wound to each creature but must remove one as a casualty first. You would presumably remove a Guard and could then assign the last wound to either the Tyrant or one of the remaining Guards.