Welcome to Librarium Online!
hey all i have 2 quick questions for the we'll be back rule. First off my necron friend who i always play agianst says that if he fails his will be back roll and he is close enough to the monolith he can suck them through and reroll his fails? Then if that is a yes what if im in cc with his warriors with my dreadnough and i intantly kill his warriors but his lord with res orb is close enough to give them a will be back roll but then he fails some and tries to send the guys who failed their instant death we'll be back through the monolith to reroll those but he lord with the orb will no longer be in range to help them back up agian because of instant death.
Yes, if you fail your first reroll, and you "suck" your necrons back through the monolith, you do get a second chance at a WBB roll. But, the way it is worded in the book, it would seem that you cannot do the second of those circumstances. "Any models in the unit that, although eligible for self-repair, failed their 'We'll be back' roll at the start of their turn and were removed, may re-roll once as they emerge from the portal," (21). So it would seem that unless the resurrection orb is within 6" from the portal mouth, the necrons cannot roll again, and are lost.
Both fair. Monolith allows you to take WBB a second time. As long as the res orb helps you escape the instant death, it doesn't need to help you again.
Honestly, the way to deal with necrons is
A) Shooting: to entirely finish off squads, one by one.
Close combat: to engage as many squads as possible, while still putting significant pressure on each squad. This way, since he only has a 1 or 2 liths (most likely) he can't teleport everything out of CC, because too many things are in CC.
You have just recieved the Amish Computer Virus. Since the Amish don't have computers, it is based on the honor system. So please delete all the files from your computer. Thank you for you cooperation.
Votewar 40k Mk1- 2nd Place
Votewar FB 1- 1st Place
Votewar 40k Mk5- 1st Place
There is a special rule of the monolith that allows you to reroll failed WBB rolls if you port them through.
So far as I know, they have to be in range when the wounds are struck for the Res Orb to take effect. So even if they are wiped out or ported through the Lith, since they were in range of the Orb when they took the wounds, they are under the influence for the Res ORb for all WBB attempts. I don't think you could do the opposite, port Necrons with the Monolith into range of a Res Orb to gain it's bonus.
It's kind of a grey area, who and when Necrons are able to benefit from the Orb. If a Lord with the Orb is killed, the Necrons in range of the Orb that turn are still allowed to make WBB rolls based on the Res Orb abilities even though the model using it is dead (until his own WB. At least nothing I've found in the rules lead me to believe anything else. I always figure where the Necrons in range when wounds were struck. If yes, they benefit from the Orb, if not, they don't.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
The more I think about it, the more I might actually want to change my answer. TheWamp and Gojiratioho make good points.
This is completely correct. The orb must be within range when the blows are struck. If the model is killed by a method that would not allow a WBB roll then it is removed from play immediately. If the rez orb is within 6" when it is killed or its death does not prevent a WBB roll it is placed on it's side to indicate it gets a WBB roll at the beginning of the next turn.Originally Posted by Gojiratoho
Teleporting through the Monolith does not affect this outcome in any way. On the next turn all models on their sides are allowed a WBB roll. Those that succeed join the closest unit, those that fail are removed from play. If a unit with models that failed their WBB rolls this turn are teleported through the Monolith they will immediately receive another WBB roll. If they fail this roll they are removed immediately. If they succeed they join the teleporting unit. The rez orb has no bearing on this extra WBB roll at all.
A final note: As Gojiratoho indicated, the rez orb will also protect the lord at the time of his own death.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.