Welcome to Librarium Online!
I looked around in the rules forum, which may be where this belongs, and didn't see this exact point addressed anywhere
So my brood lord is happily rampaging through a second squad of Tactical Marines when he finishes them off in my assault phase, uh oh, and is nowhere near anything to consilidate into, more uh oh. Him and whats left of his retinue, 3 stealers, get a full Dev. squad worth of heavy bolters unloaded at them and take 7 wounds against their maj. T.
So now it comes to allocating wounds according to mixed armor.
1. first three go to stealers, no problem here
2. next the broodlord gets his wound, still in agreement
3. now it gets a little confusing, do I
a. remove the stealers because thier armor has been pierced and allocate the remaining 3 to the brood lord.
b. go back to the stealers because they are maj. armor and give them the remaining three
Under the rules for mixed armor pg.76 #5, it says they go back to the stealers, however more than one opponent has taken issue with this as a stealer in the open would never survive one wound from a HB. I can see how they could think this way but I always thought of shooting more as one squad letting rip with everything they have, hence sometimes wasted wounds, rather than a guy with a HB shooting, seeing if anything died, shooting, seeing if anything died, etc. etc. etc...
How would you guys interpret this?
The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed
I would interpret it the exact same way as you. You go back to the stealers. Thats what the rule says so you do that. We might know it takes one shot to kill a stealer but our little plastic friends do not.
Well since he did more hits than you have models he gets to allocate one hit first but you can decide what weapon it came from and get to attempt your armour/invul/cover save.
Then you allocate all remaining hits using the majority armour rules as mentioned above. Next you decide which hits are caused by which weapons and remove any automatic casualties. Then you roll whatever armour saves are left.
If they were all HB wounds, it would go like this:
Allocate according to Majority Armor.
3 wounds to the Stealers, 1 to the BL, 3 more to the Stealers.
Figure out which wounds will pierce armor, in this case, all 6 wounds on the Stealers.
Remove casualties and discard excess wounds. 3 Stealers take 6 wounds. Stealers die, extra three wounds discarded since they were allocated to the Stealers.
BL makes his armor save for the one wound allocated to him.
Since there are more wounds than models left in the unit, your opponent can make you roll 1 models armor save after you've allocated, but the results would most likely be the same. If he made you roll for a Stealer, there are still more wounds that pierce armor than models, so excess wounds would be discarded. Making the BL roll his save first is just like him rolling for the one wound allocated to him in the first place.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
I would just follow the rules, and the only time I would not do this is when I come across a contradiction. Then I just tell my opponent what the contradiction is, and what I think should happen. Generally we agree and the game moves on. But unless your opponent finds something that says you can't shove your wounds onto your retinue, then just go on ahead.
Go the nids.
Page 24 of the core rule book.
Begin by removing all models that do not get a save, and then roll any other saving throws together.
From the unspeakable cold of the intergalactic void, an immeasurable alien intelligence moves ever closer. Barren husks of countless star systems lie in its wake.
The first tendrils of the Great Devourer, a single entity stretching over light years of space and controlled by the immortal Hive Mind, have probed our galaxy and found it rich in prey.
It has begun to feed.
Go to page fifty-one in the small rule book and it says ".....wounds suffered by a unit never carry over onto a character......"
That only applies for assaults. When being shot at, the character is treated as a normal squad/brood member (subject to the majority toughness and mixed armour rules, of course).Originally Posted by hive leader
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"