Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was considering making my genestealers 36 pts each, i know thats very pricey, and most of u think im an idot for doing so but i just love genestealers, they rule CC. well plz tell me what u think.
can you even legally get a stealer that high? there are at least 3 abilities that make it so you can't take the other two.Originally Posted by Lusipius
the most they can cost is 33 points and its a completly useless waste of points unless the objective is to get killed.
ok then please tell me what i should give them.
Either nothing, talons, or carapace. Carapace is probably your best bet if you know they will be shot (they could hide).
Ex Carapace is a must. The difference between no save against a weapon and a 4+ save is huge.
I like Scuttlers. Sure, you only get it once in a game, but the extra move is nice to either get closer to your opponent, or to move out of their LOS after deployment.
As well, ST are nice for the extra attack, but the stealers start getting a bit expensive at this point. I have successfully used a ExCar+Scuttle+ST genestealer horde.
Extended carapice and scuttle for 23pts. They get FoC so set them up as close as possible, in cover if possible or set up so the free move from scuttle gets you into cover (remember all nids get the move through cover special rule).Originally Posted by Lusipius
With Scuttle you get a free 6" move AFTER everyones set up, then you get a 6" standard move in your movement phase and a D6 FoC move with decent rolls you can be in combat range 1st turn , 2nd latest and that Ext car makes sure you have enough models to do the business when you get there.
Just think 24" set up, 6" free move 6" move D6 FoC with a 6 rolled your in CC charge range and if its 18" set up your laughing.
If you can manage the points think about Scything talons as well those extra attacks add up, but it does get very expensive. Me I would rather pay for the scuttle and actually get to CC faster.
I love stealers as well backed up by stacks of hormagaunts. At the moment I have 2 broods of 6 with scuttlers and ext. Carapace. And a single unit of 6 + Broodlord with just extended carapace. Backed up by 2 broods of 20 hormagaunts (total 40). There is so much here the enemy just can't shoot enough of it.
The scuttlers are real fast, it is so worth the points, as you'll probably suffer one less shooting phase.
18 inch set up, yes but in a 24" set up you can't charge on the first turn as your are diefned as setting up MORE than 24" from your opponent which means that after moving 18" as you suggest you are still MORE than 6" from your target and therefore not in charge range by definition.Originally Posted by rikimaru
Originally Posted by karantalsis
This exact rule causes more arguments at my club than any other, the main argument being if you set your unit with front of the bases touching exactly 24" they are not within 24" but can still reach the opponent with a lucky roll (would just like to make clear this is not something I brought up at my club, it was noticed by a few rules lawyers in the club).
This comes down to interpitation of wording, it says on most scenarios "no unit may be deployed WITHIN 24" of the enemy" thats within 24" so you can deploy 24" away but no closer. It does not say more than 24" away. As long as your 24" away your fine, you cannot set up within the 24" zone.
Think of it this way you set up with your units bases touching the furthest extent of the 24" you get the lucky rolls so your Stealers assault 6" and the bases are touching the edge of the units bases, are they in assault as they are touching the unit.
Its comes down to Assaulting something do they have to be within 6" or if your assaulting units base touches the enemy exactly at 6" are they in assault or are the enemy unit outside the 6" assault range.
To be quite honest I would go with your definition but if you read the rule it does not say more than, it says within, so I am on the fence with this one
Its a tricky one and another example of unclear wording, would be nice for nids players if the 24" 1st turn charge is relevent it would make the stealers more dangerous, but lets see what others think. I knew this would draw some comment and I hope it will get cleared up.