Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The lictor has feeder tendrils that give it the preferred enemy rule. What is the preferred enemy rule??
It's in the core rule book.
Basically, you choose a species at the begining of the game. The model with feeder tendrils then hits anything of that species on a 3+ no matter what, in cc. I called GW on what exactly prefered enemy does. The example they gave me was if I were fighting Tau, I would either have to choose Tau or Kroot for my prefered enemy. It's not army based but species or race based.
Funny story. I was fighting an Eldar player who used the Dire Avenger exarch against a Lictor of mine. I choose Eldar of course for my enemy. Now the exarch has the ability to only be hit in cc on a roll of a 6, but with the prefered enemy rule it says you hit on 3+. So we called GW on the matter, and the answer was a cop-out. He said in that situation, roll a d6 every round, whoever wins the roll gets to use their ability that round and cancels out the others. How lame....
Last edited by Loestal; August 9th, 2005 at 23:58.
thanks very much
That has been the answer for special rules in direct conflict for some time now ie two opposing units that both have rules stating that they always strike first in CC.Originally Posted by Loestal
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
I thought it means that he always have preffered enemy without choosing.
Just always hits as if attacking his preffered.
Well I don't have the codex on me right now, but I'm pretty sure all it says is something like...
"Feeder tendrills give the Tyranid the prefered enemy ability" I don't think it says anything about them always having that ability activated, even against....no, just no...it doesn't work like that unless I missread something.
Do necron units that dont have the Necron special rule (WB ex: Pariahs, Tomb spider, scarabs, etc still count as Necron?
I heard something about Pariahs being human? :confused:
or not Necrontyr in anyway.
Any truth to that or am I just confused in that regard ?
As of Tyranid 5th Ed. codex I have the Gaunts I wanted. I did, however, loose the sniperfexs I relied upon and they were more important then the gaunts.
Erm why would post this question in the Tyranid forum?
And no, units that don't have WBB don't count towards calculating phase out.
You got it wrong. Perferred enemy means you hit all non-IC non-MC non-vehicle models on a 3+ in cc. You don't have to choose a race or anything.
40K armies: Tyranids (2001), Space Wolves (2008), Sisters of Battle (2011)
Current Rep: 1337
Actually normally you do have to choose a race, against other targets they are not hit on a +3.
It's just the Lictor's rules give it preferred enemy against all races.