Welcome to Librarium Online!
i'm just starting DE (have a bunch of stuff but won't really get to play games till mid september) and i was wondering about a wwp army.
in 1500 points i plan to give a shadowfield archon one wwp and a 20 man warrior squad the second wwp. what i want to ask is if its a good idea to deploy the archon as far forward as possible and make him drop his wwp on the first turn, so on the off chance the huge warrior squad gets annihilated (it may have to weather up to 2 turns of enemy shooting and assault before being able to drop it) then my reserves still come through. is it a good idea? the problem i can see is that any reserve rolls that i make on the second turn have to come through the first portal, so may not be in as good a postion as they could be otherwise.
also, does anyone have any wwp tactics they can recommend?
I don't have my codex with me, since i'm at work, but i thought you could only have one wwp per army,(not sure but i thought i read that).
remember just because you pass the roll for reserves doesn't mean you have to bring em out, it just means they are available to be used.
Usually if you are using a wwp you tend to want to get it as far forward as you can so that your follow on troops can come into battle quick. Problem is your opponent knows this to.
The trick is to get the wwp in a good location where your troops can survive once they come out and do some serious damage.
I like to equip my scourges with a wwp, deepstrike em in with splinter cannons, get the wwp into either my opponents rear area or in some key terrain and then bring in a ton of warriors and a heavy hitting cc hq sqaud with my archon and incubi body guards.
Another tactic is to put a unit with the wwp on a raider and race it forward into some los cover, so it can survive a round to drop off the troops.
hope some of this helps
Generally lords are very uncommon for carrying the WWP.There is no such restriction.I don't have my codex with me, since i'm at work, but i thought you could only have one wwp per army,(not sure but i thought i read that).Once a reserve roll for a unit has been passed and it is able to enter the table (i.e. a portal is open), it has to come. Reserves cannot be held back.remember just because you pass the roll for reserves doesn't mean you have to bring em out, it just means they are available to be used.That's a horrible idea. The scourges won't arrive before turn two. If they are lucky and don't land in a place where they get killed by enemy fire, then they have to remain stationary for a turn in order to deploy the portal in turn three. Then the reserves can come in in turn four at best. There is a 50% chance that they even won't come before turn four, as that's the chance that the scourges won't arrive before turn three. There even is a 1/6 chance that the WWP reserves cannot enter before turn six!I like to equip my scourges with a wwp, deepstrike em in with splinter cannons, get the wwp into either my opponents rear area or in some key terrain and then bring in a ton of warriors and a heavy hitting cc hq sqaud with my archon and incubi body guards.
The WWP reserves entering on turn four already makes it more difficult to win the game. The enemy will have secured eventual objectives by then, or reformed in anticipation of the arriving main army. WWP reserves coming in turn five makes it very difficult to win then, and with the reserves entering on turn six it's almost impossible. It's like rolling a D6 on the start of the game, and on a '1' you lose instantly.
thanks for the info on more than one wwp, couldn't remember if you could or not and didn't see the other thread with it in there.
i'll take a look at the main rule book tonight about the reserves.
and about the scourges, yup its a big gamble sometimes it doesn't work sometimes it does, it is a big risk. It has worked more often then it hasn't. no guts no glory right. Yeah it is a risky tactic but its worked out great for me most of the time. Nothing like watching my opponents face when my reserves come thru that portal on turn four and chew the guts out of his army or even better when they come in behind him and seriously rip into him.
A lot of what can make it successful is where you deep strike the scourges and how effective their opening volley is. get em into the right spot and those 16 shots can wipe out the only people that can shoot at em, then it makes it a lot easier for them to survive.
If you deep strike em where a bunch of units have line of site, yeah your toast, if you jump em into a good spot you can devastate your opponent. Also you have to use your other units to support em, do some deception moves, set up some fire support for em, get your opponent focussed on something else. plenty of ways to make it work. Yeah if your reserves roll suck, your in for a tough game.........but once again it makes it fun.
to many people get caught up in the winning and losing, and forget about the fun aspect of the game.
I play for fun
I play for fun, and i don't need to win to have fun. But that doesn't make me try potentially suicidial moves if there are clearly better alternatives, at least until the game already is decided and it doesn't matter anymore. Deepstriking scourges to deliver a WWP is such a thing, more a gamble than a tactic.to many people get caught up in the winning and losing, and forget about the fun aspect of the game.
some of the biggest gambles in military history turned into the biggest most important victories. But I do hear what you are saying. I like a good challenge, i think thats why my dice hate me so much on my save rolls and my to hit rolls, work like charms on my reserve rolls but nuthin else.
anyways good hearing your opinons
The bearer of the portal deploys it in the shooting phase instead of moving or shooting. That means moving or shooting that phase (FoF) not that game turn. Technically the Scourges could DS, and deploy the WWP on the turn that they arrive instead of the bearer shooting.Originally Posted by ArchonAstaroth
Would it be worth the risk? That depends. If it's the only portal in the army, NO WAY. There is a pretty good chance that the scourges won't come in until the 3rd or 4th turn and reserves would be unable to enter through the portal until the turn after. Plus you have to worry about all the bad things that could happen during the DS; ie scatter off the board, into an enemy unit, into impassable terrain, etc... It could be viable as a backup portal, but chances are that the other portal was opened earlier and available units have already arrived before the scourges were available.
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
scourges can deep strike and deploy web way? i thought if you deep strike it counts as moving
Not really.The bearer of the portal deploys it in the shooting phase instead of moving or shooting. That means moving or shooting that phase (FoF) not that game turn. Technically the Scourges could DS, and deploy the WWP on the turn that they arrive instead of the bearer shooting.
The rules say "instead of moving or shooting that turn".
There is a way to rule lawyer a bit about the "or" used in that rule, but no other way to make it work on the move.
Last edited by ArchonAstaroth; August 25th, 2005 at 13:05.
WHO CARES ABOUT THE PORTAL?
JUST RUN IN WITH EVERY SINGLE GUY IN YOUR ARMY AND ASSAULT
YOU EITHER WIN OR LOSE
END OF STORY