Librarium Online Forums banner

*NEW* Player seeking intro advice...

893 views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  chauvin01 
#1 · (Edited)
Greetings to all fellow Tau commanders.

Shas'O Zah'Kre Shau'vin reporting in (That's Zachary Chauvin, in common English).

As I am new to not only the Tau forces, but also 40k 4ed., I have a few questions as I set forth on the long path to the Greater Good.

By way of introduction, I played 40k long, long ago, before the days of Tau, Necrons, Dark Eldar, Daemon Hunters, Adeptus Soriritas, et al. I think the last game I played before selling everything I owned was about 6 months before the Necrons were introduced. Therefore, I find myself with a great deal of catching up to do.

I have spent some measure of time reading the new rulebook, and, while many concepts therein are still foreign to me (for example, I don't know how you guys can live without Overwatch rules!), I think I'd be interested in picking up the dice once in a while for friendly play.

That said, about 6 months ago, I headed down to the local hobby shop and snagged a Tau Battle Force and Codex (what can I say, the models appealed to me :D ) I'm going to try to play a few small point games (probably 500 pts) with one of the local 'experts' to learn the new rules.

I write in order to pose a few questions about Tau tactica because, even though I am still learning, being able to, at least, put up a somewhat competitive fight will probably keep me more interested than getting trounced in game after game after game, ad nauseum.

I currently own the basic Tau Battleforce (3 XV8s, 12 FWs, 12 Kroot, 10 Gun Drones), and have about $250 to expand the force. Bearing these facts in mind, my questions are as follows: