Welcome to Librarium Online!
Is the particle whip a blast template, or ordnance? :confused:
I do believe it is an ordnace weapon, which use the large blast template. Dont roll to hit, only scatter and then roll wounds an saves.
Hope that helps.
"I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.
*Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*
Its defenitly an orenance weapon, check the codex. The really cool part is that the model hit under the center of the blast takes an AP1 hit.
"Dare to be Naive"
If someone helps you, or you just like what they say, rep them
"Dont roll to hit, only scatter and then roll wounds an saves."
THAT'S where we were messing up then. We weren't rolling the scatter. Thanks!
And do remember, the monolith is the ONLY template weapon that I know of that actually specifies that the MODEL under the hole takes the ap1, so you can use it to snipe squad leaders and HQ's. Evil but legal.
I'm guessing the weapon will lose that particular ability in the next revision of the Necron codex. Still, that's a few years down the road. . .Originally Posted by The Mad Hatter
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
We had this same question at a tournament I was watching over the weekend. I was confused because even though the weapon was ord, it simply said "blast" for the template, not "large blast" as is typical of a large blast weapon. I was reminded that the Necron codex is a little out of date. The FAQ clears it up by specifying large blast in the rules about the particle whip.
I know it was already answered. Just thought someone might like to know where to look.
While I agree that it will probably lose the ability to snipe force commanders, aspiring champions and lamer librarians, fluff wise it's actually very accurate (something that doesn't happen often for necrons) since the particle whip is a single target beam with a blast, not a large explosive shell. (I'd give it up if they'd give wraiths rending and H. Destroyers AP1)
you already can't snipe with it, if you ook in the faq of necrons on the gamesworkshop site you can see that the opponent may still choose wich model to remove
Anyone in range of the template can be removed, it just means *someone* has to take an ap1 hit, say hi to Fred the redshirt! blip!
Thats why units with multiple famers tend to clear a 6" death zone in front of them rather than flamer shaped holes, I prefered the old way where thetemplate could be placed to hit the same number elsewhere, but this is simpler i suppose
Ask not a question of the eldar, for they will give you three answers all of which are true and horrifying to know.