Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
With the Pathfinders' Devilfish, is it correct that the Devilfish can use the Scout rule's initial movement before the game starts only if the Pathfinders are deployed inside the transport?
Also, with twin-linked plasma guns on Crisis suits, can they rapid fire double shots within 12" of the enemy even though they've moved that turn?
Yes, the devilfish gets the special "scout move" at the beginning of the game because the pathfinders MUST be deployed inside of it at the beginning of the game.
Its ok if you dont want the pathfinders to start the game in the transport because they can disembark as part of the "scout move"
Also, regarding the crisis suits. Yes, it states in the codex that a crisis suit may shoot all assault and rapid fire weapons as though he was stationary (not heavy weapons though). This also means that they have the ability to shoot with their rapid fire weapons and still be able to charge into close combat on the same turn (correct me if I'm wrong)
Ok, I'm confused, so some clarification would be helpful.
1) If the Pathfinders deploy on the table at the start of the game, can the empty Devilfish still make a free move?
2) Can Crisis suits assault into CC after rapid firing their guns?
first of tau pathfiders do not have to start on the table where does it say that all they have to do is to have a devilfish transport on the table not in it and therefor the vehicle does not get the added scout move i am prity sure
So if I understand correctly what you are saying is that all of the following are legal:
a) If the pathfinders deploy in the devilfish, the devilfish gets the scout move (up to 12" from where the fish originally deployed).
b) If the pathfinders deploy in the devilfish, then the pathfinders can use their scout move to disembark from the devilfish (up to 6" from the where the fish deployed).
c) If the pathfinders deploy on the table (with to an empty devilfish somewhere on the table) then just the pathfinder troops get the scout move (up to 6" from where the troop deployed).
How can b & c both be legal? Or maybe I should say, How are they different? Doesn't a designated transport for a unit have to be deployed in cohesion with the troop that owns it?
Yeah, I just called the Ruleboyz. They said there was an faq released recently saying that troops may be deployed outside of their designated transport at the beginning of the game (sounds kinda wierd to me, but those are the rules, so oh well).
Sorry for the confusion.
Last edited by Neferata; September 22nd, 2005 at 20:31.
why not the devil fish is part of the pathfinder unit so it is inculed in the specail rulesOriginally Posted by onlainari
You make a good point Monkeylord...the devilfish is technically part of the pathfinder unit...sounds like a good question for the rule boyz
The key wording is that pathfinders are scouts. They use the scout rule in the codex. They may make a turn of movement, including moving 12" insider their devilfish and unloading. Devilfish aren't scouts, and thus if the pathfinders are deployed outside their fish, they're allowed to move, but the devilfish isn't.