Questions on Geanstealers - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Senior Member Shas'O Briguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Outside Chicago
    Age
    27
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    Questions on Geanstealers

    I got just a couple questions on Geanstealers.

    1) Do they have 3 standard attacks?

    2) What are the little weird things that come with a Geanstealer box set?

    3) Can Geanstealers infiltrate without a broodlord?

    I think thats all. Thanks for your help.

    "I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.

    *Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member PoptartsNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    The Eastern Fringe
    Age
    32
    Posts
    913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shas'O Briguy
    1) Do they have 3 standard attacks?

    2) What are the little weird things that come with a Geanstealer box set?

    3) Can Geanstealers infiltrate without a broodlord?
    1) Only with Scything Talons.

    2) Those are objective markers and/or little tiny terrain bits.

    3) No.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Shas'O Briguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Outside Chicago
    Age
    27
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    I thought they had an extra extra attack for 4 arms. So, what is special for Scything Talons? Are they just 2 CC weapons for the extra attack? Cant you claim the 2 weapon bonus for 2 rending claws?
    "I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.

    *Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*

  5. #4
    Senior Member PoptartsNinja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    The Eastern Fringe
    Age
    32
    Posts
    913
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Shas'O Briguy
    I thought they had an extra extra attack for 4 arms.
    They do, it's why they have two attacks as a base in their profile.

    Quote Originally Posted by Shas'O Briguy
    So, what is special for Scything Talons? Are they just 2 CC weapons for the extra attack?
    Yup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Shas'O Briguy
    Cant you claim the 2 weapon bonus for 2 rending claws?
    Nope, because the extra attacks from having four arms is already worked into the Tyranids' profiles.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Shas'O Briguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Outside Chicago
    Age
    27
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    Ah, thanks. It all makes sense now.
    "I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.

    *Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*

  7. #6
    Member Markus von Carstein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Southern Hampshire, England
    Age
    26
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Rending Claws

    If you think about it, I guess they need both claws to tear stuff apart- its kinda hard to do it with one claw, so that's why they don't get the bonus for two CC weapons.

  8. #7
    Senior Member THE Hersh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Age
    43
    Posts
    881
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    None of the 'Nids gain a bonus for two CC weapons. It says that right in the codex, soehwhere. It's all built into their profile.
    A little pain never hurt anyone - Larry

  9. #8
    Senior Member Shas'O Briguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Outside Chicago
    Age
    27
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    I got it. So only weapons bought from the armory or scything talons (sometimes from the armory) are actually considered CC weapnons. So the only way to get the an extra attack in the entire army is to buy it? That is, unless they have it for free, like hormogaunts.

    I got one other question: Stealers dont need synapse do they? Do creature outside of synapse range really take a penalty? I thought that you take Ld test when outside, and other than gaunts, everything has got good Ld.
    "I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.

    *Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*

  10. #9
    Senior Member THE Hersh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hamilton
    Age
    43
    Posts
    881
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Briguy, is it me or did you not buy the codex? This is pretty close to asking for rules out of the codex. That being said a number of the 'Nid beasties require synapse or they do something akin to Ork animosity. Genestealers, amongst others, are immune to this one.

    There, no quotes from the codex and I think I answered your question. I hope this helps, (and doesn't break any rules, note me glaring at you).
    Last edited by THE Hersh; October 28th, 2005 at 01:03.
    A little pain never hurt anyone - Larry

  11. #10
    Senior Member Shas'O Briguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Outside Chicago
    Age
    27
    Posts
    445
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    18 (x1)

    Sorry, I didn't think that through. I dont play nids, but Im worried about their abilities in the event that i have to play against them. After the revision, I'm not sure what they're capable of. I gues i should just play them and find out. Thanks though.
    "I'd rather fight 100 Hammerheads than 20 Battlesuits" -Vinnie, an Ultramarine.

    *Remember to use the Reputation ability! Click the yellow star beneath a name on the left side!*

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts