Upgrading gaunts/hormugaunts - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Upgrading gaunts/hormugaunts

Is it worth it?whats better 25 or moreunupgraded hormugaunts or 17 gaunts with toxin sacs and flesh hooks?im a noob to 40k and decided to start a nid army because i like swarms and cc fexs alot and their psycic powers are good too.Im just not sure if more horma gaunts are better or a giant swarm of 25+ hormagaunts are better.thanx.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    81 (x2)

With Tyranids, numbers is a far greater advantage than upgrades. Every unit in the list has a lot of very tempting upgrades, but my advice for new players is, don't take them until you've learned your army. Numbers are far more forgiving than upgrades, and they have an added bonus of disheartening inexperienced opponents as well.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm with PoptartsNinja, numbers are definitely better. Initially you should be using your hormagaunts to tie up the enemy until your gribbly monsters can close in and devour them. They are not there to wipe out the enemy themselves. At least until you're used to your army and are ready to tweak it here and there.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)