Welcome to Librarium Online!
While perusing the rules I noticed that I did not find a statement that say that Monstrous Creatures are counted as Independent Characters. The closest thing I got is the Hive Tyrants retinue, which is part of the IC rule.
Can anyone please point me to the right page? It is not in the characters or monstrous creature section. Or are MCs truly not counted as ICs anymore. I am curious as this affects for example victory point calculations.
"I'm always right. Except for the times I'm not."
No, Monstrous Creatures are not automatically counted as Independent Characters.
Additionally, the Hive Tyrant does not say that it is an Independent Character therefore it isn't. The Shieldwall rule for the Tyrant Guard is to counter the fact that Monstrous Creatures are large targets so may typically be singled out for shooting purposes.
Hope this helps, Lleu.
They are simply monstrous creatures, nothing more, the only IC we have is the broodlord.
So much for that pesky emperor's champion for trying to pick out our big nids.