Devilfish Question (pts) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    it says in the codex that you can mount a squad of firewarriors in a devilfish. But it doesnt say that it costs additional points to have a devilfish. Usually, because it is a specail option it would acutually have to say that it is additional amount of point. Also under the pathfinders it says you have to pay an additional amount to have it. This is proubly just a typo in the codex.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    The cost IS in the codex, and yes its in addition to the unit cost. For the pathfinder, its mandatory.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    At home
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    That's the reason why the Devilfish entry is in the troops section of the codex!! So you can have the Fire Warriors in a Transport at the cost of +80 points, just like it says in the entry!! Oooh, glad I got that out of my system..... Anyway, no offense to anyone....

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    thanks for clearing that up for me

    yay im a scout!

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I’m not a big fan of vehicles and wish I could have the pathfinders arrive via deep strike. Maybe a flight or jump packs at 10 points each would be nice.

    OR how about bikes instead of the devil fish? :huh: Maybe GW will come up with 10 point bikes that the pathfinders ride in on and then dismount to fight. Or just run things over! :blink:

    An bike with a side car so the passenger can use its weapon or marker light! Now that would be a great fast attack option. :lol:

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    228
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I figure I might as well ask my devilfish-related question here (well transports in general I suppose):

    once a squad disembarks from the devilfish, can the devilfish go off on its own? or does it need to keep coherency with the squad it was transporting?
    iron Hands
    Haemonculus Coven Dark Eldar

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    At home
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    You know, I never thought of that. Isn't every vehicle a squad on its own? So can it leave the unit and transport another unit? OH NO!! I have so many questions now!! Please, someone answer them!!

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Ask em in the right forum, (not this one), and you'll get more answers.

    Anyway, while I'm here.

    A transport is an indepedent unit for all practical purposes, (capable of holding objectives and moving freely, no unit coherency required).

    A transport is bound to its unit though, for purposes of transporting. That's a ruling that was explained in the Trial vehicle rules and asserted in a FAQ I think, so it's official.

    Feel free to play otherwise of course, but check with ur opponents first.

    Oh, and @delta:
    I don't think it's a typo, that's the way all transports are listed in all of the codexes IIRC. The reason the cost is listed for the pathfinders is because the transport is listed in the troops section I think, and because you *have* to take it so they just wanted to rub it in that they're making you waste 80 points for a bunch of firewarrior wannabes. :blink:

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    ^^^ yah i didnt think if it was a typo i just didnt know what to call it....

    But now i have another question.....

    When the firewarriors disembark can they use the full 30' of their weapons that turn?

  11. #10
    Fae
    Fae is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    This is the exact question i had today in a game, seeing as if you disembark BEFORE the vehicle moves you can move the troops as normal but we reasoned you'd count as moving for the purposes of weapon firing.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts