Strategies against Orks - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Strategies against Orks

Greetings.

This is my first post in this forum. I'm relatively new to 40k. I've been playing Nids for a little less than a year now.

Most of my games I play against my friend's Ork army. But nearly every time we play, he really destroys me. Like, I'm almost entirely wiped off the board by turn 4 or 5. And I'm getting tired of losing so badly. I come here looking for strategies to help me beat Orks.

We play games that range from 500 to 2000 points, and he plays a couple different kinds of Ork armies (everything from footslogging swarming armies to Speedfreaks with lots of buggies, bikes, and looted vehicles), so I'm not really looking to design a particular list or beat a particular list. I'm just seeing if any of you more experienced players have found any weaknesses in the Ork army.

The problem I've noticed, is that even though Nids are a primarily close combat army, the average Ork is better in close combat than the average Tryanid.

I thought for a while that I could out-shoot the Orks since they have an average BS of 2 compared to the average Nid BS of 3. But when you factor in Ork abilities like the ammo runtz, the twin-linked shooting of their bikes, the power of the guns on a looted Leman Russ or Land Raider, and the better range on shooting that their guns have compared to ours, it doesn't seem possible to out-shoot them.