Welcome to Librarium Online!
Combat drugs are great. Yet there seems to be some doubt about one of the options. In particular, 're-roll any misses in close combat'. To my humble opinion this means re-roll 'to-hit' and 'to-wound' rolls. As close combat is the phase where you roll to hit and to wound. Some say that you may only re-roll the to-hit rolls. The key-word is 'any'! The FAQ and chapter approved doesn't say anyting about this. Even in the new wargear-book there is no clarification to be found.
The thing is with other wargear etc. it is always specified what you can or cannot re-roll.
So what do you chaps think about this?
Thx in advance.
keyword is also "misses", you cant really hit and then miss. the to wound roll is just to see if your hit actually did any damage.
roll to hit, re-roll the your misses and then roll to wound as normal.
""What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns? Don't we make ya laugh?" - Captain Spaulding.
Ok, I get your point of view. Yet, where does it say that 'to miss' is just the opposit of 'to hit'? In addition, it just says 'any misses', and to opinion any roll not high enough to wound is considered a miss. Hence my reasoning.Originally Posted by Caluin
Why cannot GW just put it clearly like with other rulling - 'hellish vigour' (WHF comes to mind now. Thereby avoiding any confusion.
Originally Posted by lorddraahk
I aint much good at rules lawyering but I have read descriptions elsewhere that would say reroll "to-wound" if they meant it. To infer that you get to roll both to-hit and to-wound would be a bit naive.
Unless the "to-wound" wording is there then I would stick to the re roll "to-hit" idea only.
The re-roll is only applied to hitting, the only items that allow re-rolls on multiple roll types(hit, wound, save, etc.) clearly list them all out.
It says that to miss is the opposite of to hit in the dictionary, no where in the definition of to miss in the dictionary or the game is wounding mentioned so if the word has no connotation to do with wounding in english why should it suddenly acquire one in the game?Originally Posted by lorddraahk