Skimmers getting shot at first turn - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Senior Member designer891's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Skimmers getting shot at first turn

    Hey guys,

    I had a question I haven't seen an answer for:

    If you don't get first turn and someone shoots at your falcon/vyper whatever, do you not get the moving over 6" glance rule?

    I mean you wouldn't come into battle moving still. Maybe there is a rule somewhere on this, if someone can direct me to it that would be great.

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    All units are stationary at the start of the game.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  4. #3
    Senior Member designer891's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Thanks Rork but can you tell me where in the book I can find that rule?

  5. #4
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    You can't.

    But that is not the point, the point is: can you find a rule that says your skimmers are moving over 6" before the first turn? No, you can't. If you have not had a turn yet, it follows that your skimmers have not moved yet. Therefore, you can suffer penetrating hits.

    Tips to avoid this problem: hide your skimmers behind terrain; remember they do get the Obscured Target benefit if they are partially hidden behind terrain. Give them holo-fields to reduce the damage. Use loaded dice for the first turn roll. :tongue:
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  6. #5
    Senior Member designer891's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Thanks,

    I just thought there was a rule somewhere.

    In the games I play we have relatively no terrain...maybe 2 structures and a small woods. If u position stuff correctly in the start of the game you can see everything if you put support weapons on ethier end of the table.

    It's cool I have been playing right, I just was just hoping I was playing wrong .. but im not poor skimmers.

  7. #6
    Drills baby. Da Mighty Camel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Eskisltuna, Sweden
    Age
    27
    Posts
    6,481
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    525 (x8)

    Might want to get more terrain? 2 buildings and a wood is not the 25% that should at least be placed on a table.

  8. #7
    Senior Member TzarNikolai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Sheffield, UK
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x2)

    you really need more terrain. who are you playing against and which of you gets to set up terrain?

    not having enough tends to lead to things like not being able to keep your skimmers and transports safe...

  9. #8
    Drills baby. Da Mighty Camel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Eskisltuna, Sweden
    Age
    27
    Posts
    6,481
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    525 (x8)

    I always like to play whit lots of terrain, around 40%, but 25% can be fun to.
    Wood is rather easy to make. Just take a piece of cardboard, wrap some tape around the edges to make it smooth, stick a couple of trees on it and paint and flock it. Repeat!

  10. #9
    Senior Member designer891's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    389
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    Yeah a thrird party guy who doesn't have an army yet sets the game terrain up. The only reason why we use fewer building is the games seem to take along time if we don't.

    Yeah I think it hurts my army in the long run, terrian really helps eldar esspecially my spiders.

    If you guys have any terrain set ups you have pics of I would love to see them. But all I have seen online is about the same thing we use..around 2 bulidings and a woods or 2.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    57
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    The more terrain the merrier, its one thing you can't have to much of...well that and starcannons >.<

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts