Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've only played my new Necron army in 3 games so far and the following questions popped up:
1) The scarab swarn ignores terrain, but what happens if you turbo-boost them? The turbo-boost rule states that you can't boost into or through terrain. Does that mean that you can't turbo-boost scarab swarms through/into terrain like forest?
2) When a Necron Lord 'veil of darkness' teleports a group of immortals behind enemy lines, can the lord then shoot and assault another enemy unit than the unit the immortals attacks, or does the lord and immortals count as being in the same group after the teleportation?
Hope you can help :yes:
Scarabs do not make difficult terrain tests, they do not ignore difficult terrain. Turbo boosting cannot be performed into difficult terrain and therefore affects scarabs just like everyone else. But they can turbo boost OVER the terrain as them move as jetbikes. I LOVE SCARABS.Originally Posted by hauserThe lord can teleport himself and another unit within 6". The lord can either be joined or not to that unit. So, the answer is: the lord can do whatever it wants in that case. ICs joining units is done in the movement phase so you would make the decision AFTER you teleported for the best affect. I typically NEVER join my lord to any unit as it removes some of the benefits of being an IC. As long as the immortals are surrounding the lord he cannot be shot because he is an IC and never the closest target.Originally Posted by hauser
After VoD you cannot assault as it is a Deep Strike move and you cannot assault after a Deep Strike.
BTW, be careful when teleporting behind enemy lines. The opponent will typically just turn around and blast the entire unit into the ground thus killing 300+ points in one turn. Believe me, I have done it numerous times in the past with horrific experiences every time. I typically only use the VoD to remove units from CC. I don't use it for offensive purposes until at the minimim turn 4.
Last edited by LordCreampuff; December 14th, 2005 at 15:40.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
When turbo booting you have to decide whether the terrain the going through is dangerous. If it difficult as in its exeptionally rocky then they can turbo boost over as the ground condition does not effect them. However if the terrain is difficult because its a forest then it does affect them cause they could turbo boost into a tree........much the same effect as a bug on the windshield.
LordCreampuff basically summed up the VoD thing, although as a note I usually will VoD on the first or second turn as long as I feel that my lord will be alive next turn to VoD out. What he takes is expendable though as it will probably take some 90+% of the enemy fire next turn thus leaving my rather slow army a full turn to advance without troubles. This is rather invaluable to an army that lacks a lot of mobility. Though i'll admit when complete destruction of the VoD'ing unit is likely it isn't worth losing a resurrection orb over, so i would advise against.