Scything talon/rending claw combination? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Scything talon/rending claw combination?

    Hi.
    I´m new here on the forums so I don´t know wether this subject has already been dealt with, but here goes: How does combining scything talons and rending claws affect the CC attacks?
    I mean, for example, you have a ravener with a set of both. It has now 4 attacks. How many of these have rending ability? Same goes for many other models as they tend to have both.
    Is there some universal way to count that how many of creatures CC attacks have rending ability if scything/rending combination?

    Thank you for reading.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

  3. #2
    Member RedOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Montreal
    Age
    35
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    If a unit has rending claws then all his/her/it's attacks have rending.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Really? Well, isn´t that quite a... overpowering? I mean, if ravener has one set or rending claws, it would have 5 rending attacks when charging. And that is many.
    Though, not complaining. I love raveners

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    GW does this to simplify the game. You have the same problem when using a model with a power weapon. Add a bolt pistol and the model gains an extra power weapon attack in CC, not an extra CCW attack. GW states that the fact that he carrying a gun means it is a distraction and allows the extra attack. In reality the gun would be more of a distraction to the attacker, not the defender. But this isn't reality, it's Games Workshop reality and we're stuck with it. Just be thankful this rule happens to be in your favor at the moment. :w00t:
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    410
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    FYI, it's also why they have ripper swarms no longer with rending. Regardless of the strength, you would get an automatic wound with no armor save.

    So even though the chances of a rend were small, with so many attacks from rippers, you would get a sizable amount of rending hits.

    Because of the change, they aren't as viable for fielding, esp since they can be instant killed with a decent weapon.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    324
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    in reality cc almost never happens. because as soon as they got the equivalent of 6" away on the charge they would be shot. dead.

    of course this isn't reality, as noticed by the tyranids and tau and chaos space marines running around.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -5 (x0)

    why the Tau?

  9. #8
    Senior Member Dodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Age
    28
    Posts
    788
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x2)

    when using a model with a power weapon. Add a bolt pistol and the model gains an extra power weapon attack in CC, not an extra CCW attack
    so not only do my nids get plenty powerful rending attacks..
    but now my chaos dude with a power fist and a bolt pistol? does he get 2 powerfist attacks?


  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -5 (x0)

    yes and 3 if he charges! but he still strikes last....

  11. #10
    Senior Member Dodge's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Age
    28
    Posts
    788
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    41 (x2)

    Holy peanut, that's awesome... thanks for that info. :w00t:


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts