Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've been pondering this for quite a while now for my 2k point army list. With the 2 lords, one would have the VoD and Orb w/ warscythe while the other has the Orb, Phylactery, and phase shifter. The lord in the other config would have a VoD and orb w/ warscythe and of course you all know what a c'tan does. So which one would work better, or any other configs that would work in a 2k army list?
Unfortunately, I do not know the the answer to your post but what I would like to know is if the lord lays down and fails his WBB, can you transport him thru the monolith for another shot at WBB?
yes a lord can be brought through the monolith for another shot at wbb. I think that the second lord in your first configuration could get rid of the phase shifter b/c the orb is a 4+ invulnerable save also. In addition, either configuration really depends on what you are trying to do strategically. More often than not though, i would find myself using the two lords rather than the lord and ctan.
I prefer 2 Lords in general but 2000 points is plenty enough to include a C'tan, especially if you need a little more CC punch. Most of the time I'll use the VoD but sometimes I'll include the Destroyer Body for added toughness.
The WBB question really should have it's own topic but yes the lord will get a second shot at WBB.
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
Careful what you say cause some new polayers may misinterpret that as meaning the res orb actually does give a 4+ inv. save as well as making WBB guaranteed.I think that the second lord in your first configuration could get rid of the phase shifter b/c the orb is a 4+ invulnerable save also.
As for the lords question i would say take two. Anything more than 2k points you can decide if you want to use a c'tan or not but in most cases the bigger the game the more lords you want as you have more units to cover with res orb.
I usually reserve C'tan for games where I don't need my lords to be mobile, cause if you only got one then they basically must stay in place with the army and not stray too much cause the army needs there res orb covering.
If your going to take two lords I suggest taking one with res orb and VoD but leave him with a Staff of Light. Lets him do some covering fire for the units he teleports and a staff is still a power weapon. For your second lord do a Destoryer lord with res orb,phase shifter and warscythe. Really mean 6T with 3+/4+ to back it up and a warscythe with 5S to kick some peoples rumps with.
Honestly, it depends on what you want to achieve.
Personally, I'm using a Lord + C'tan (the Deceiver).
My army utilises Pariahs, Flayed Ones, the Nightmare Shroud (yes, my Lord has NO VoD) and the Deceiver's various tricks; it's a fear based army.
So, the Deceiver plays into what I wish to achieve, where a second Lord wouldn't cut it.
In my opinion you would be better having two lords for a number of reasons:-
1) they are cheaper
2) they aren't so much of a target
3)With res.orbs they can hold the army together
4)they contribute to phase out
1) This is true, but when you pay for a C'tan, you get what you pay for.Originally Posted by The_Outsider
2) This is also true, but only when you are using their IC status to good effect; if you present them as a target, the lords will be shot to pieces.
3) In some cases, yes. In a lot of cases, no. A single Lord can do nearly just as well with a single Orb, to hold the bulk of the army together.
4) A single model is almost not worth noting; that's also what a C'tan gives you. Since the C'tan doesn't contribute to Phase Out, a lot of new players will ignore it to shoot at your Necron units. Or, they will shoot it (and with that high of a T and that many wounds, coupled with an invulnerable save) and take shots away from your (some might say more) valuable Necron units.
C'tan can be quite good if you use them right, and give them a purpose other than scaring your opponent. Again, I use my army as an example - the Deceiver isn't there to rush into CC with the closest enemy unit and hopefully start killing it. It's there to force a good amount of morale checks on the enemy, using Pariahs and Flayed Ones, etc.
I think it comes down to points. Two lords is best. It allows you to field more warriors.....more warriors....more warriors. With destoyer bodies or VOD you can always decide whether or not you will get into CC with a lord. Res Orb keeps your foot sloggers in the fight. C'tan are great until the cattle wise up and stay out of its way. You always hope they concentrate fire on it buttttttt.... a 360 point bullet sponge? If the C'tan can't get to close combat, 1/5th of your army is done. That is my opinion. I have used the C'tan/lord combo with success but my opponents were amateurs at best....
Correction: if the Nightbringer can't get to close combat, 1/5th of your army is done.Originally Posted by Davesnothereman
The Deceiver isn't useless outside of CC; in fact, I'd rather keep him out of CC, though in CC will do just as well.. though hidden powerfists and the like frighten me.
The Deceiver is quite useful, and I prefer him and his rules over the Nightbringer.. or two Lords, for that matter. I don't even have a VoD in my army. :tongue: